Macro Recorder-does not SaveAs

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

davesexcel

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 12, 2007
Messages
14
I would like to bring up this closed thread, when Goggling, "macro recorder saveas does not work" that closed thread is one of the first hits.

http://forums.techguy.org/business-applications/1136690-excel-macro-recorder-will-not.html

Here is a quick 26 second video of what the OP must have been talking about.
Macro Recorder does not Record "SaveAs"

Unlike the OP who was using Windows 7 when it no longer recorder saveas.
My windows 7 records saveas, it has xl'07 & xl'10 (Lap Top)
My windows 8 does not record saveas, it has xl'10 & xl'13(Desk Top)

There are also a few other things the macro recorder will not record.
 

Keebellah

Hans
Trusted Advisor
Joined
Mar 27, 2008
Messages
6,639
I'll try it out on my Windows 8.1 table and Office 2013 and let you know
 

Keebellah

Hans
Trusted Advisor
Joined
Mar 27, 2008
Messages
6,639
Okay, I tried it and yes, in 2013 it doesn't do that, but if you press F12 (whihc is the function key for SaveAs) it will do the job and this is what the macro records:

Code:
Sub SaveAsMacro02()
'
' SaveAsMacro02 Macro
'

'
    ActiveWorkbook.SaveAs Filename:="G:\_Forii\03_March\Book2.xlsm", FileFormat _
        :=xlOpenXMLWorkbookMacroEnabled, CreateBackup:=False
End Sub
The proble is the commads you select via de Ribbon, but why 2010 does work, I think that is one of those MicroSoft secrets :)

Errors worked as designed?

If you lookup the list of SendKeys functions you could go around it.
 

davesexcel

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 12, 2007
Messages
14
Thanks Keebellah,
That is not my problem, it doesn't work for either way.

Are you telling me when you used the macro recorder, it didn't work when you went to file=>saveas, but worked when you use F12?

There are other things not working either, such as "find" and "Replace"
 

Keebellah

Hans
Trusted Advisor
Joined
Mar 27, 2008
Messages
6,639
That is correct. Pressing F12 dit record (you saw the code)
Like I also mentioned, you could use keypress or Send Keys to for functionality whihc is in the ribbon and not 'recognized' by the macro recorder
 

davesexcel

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 12, 2007
Messages
14
Thanks,
That wasn't the problem, it doesn't work using the file=>saveas or F12 key buttons.
Also "Find" does not work either.

If you look at the short vid, I am Recording "Find" and then colouring the found cells.
Only the cell format part of the code shows, not the find part.

macro-Record Find and Format

There has to be something at that level, that is not recording.
 

Keebellah

Hans
Trusted Advisor
Joined
Mar 27, 2008
Messages
6,639
Look I haven't tested the find and so but the F12 (SaveAs) was recorded 'normally' on my Asus Transformer (Windows 81. and Student Office 2013)
I do know that some of the default commands are not recornized.
I haven't tested Ctrl+F (which is the equivalend of pressing Find)
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top