1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Macro to select after activation

Discussion in 'Software Development' started by AngelaCasale, Oct 31, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. AngelaCasale

AngelaCasale Thread Starter

Hi All, I am very new to macros and would like some help!

I work in a school and have created a spreadsheet that tracks each students progress in maths. On on sheet I have a fed sheet from the input that bring through and individual students progress. I have created macros that move around this sheet as it is aimed for staff that arent too friendly with excel. The macros jump to name ranges. However once they jump there they are still selected which knocks out my formatting where I have hidden text by making it white.

So far I have

Application.Goto Reference:="Overview"

I have tried figuring it out on my own but now joy. Tried deselect etc but I dont really know what I am doing!

Any help would be much appreciated.

Regards

Angela :)

2. Keebellah

Keebellah Trusted Advisor

First Name:
    Hans
    Hi Angela, welcome to the forum.
    I hope you excuse me, but I cannot picture what you mean or what you are trying to chieve.
    Is it possible to post a sample without the sensitive data?
    If "Overview" is a renage, the moment you dor Application.Goto it it will select the whole range when found, but as far as I understand you don't want the whole range selected.
    If Overview is als a worksheet the you can go to that sheet by saying Sheet("Overview").Activate
    But like I said, I cannot picture what you are doing so it's difficult to explain and solve (for me at least)