1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

! magicjack?

Discussion in 'Do It Yourself (Not Computer-Related)' started by crburke08, Apr 24, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. crburke08

    crburke08 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Okay I am going to start working at home for the company Alpine Access. I need to have a phone line dedicated to this job. I was wondering if a phone jack like magicjack would work for this. I am going to be answering calls. Would this product work or is there a better product? Or should I just get another landline. The phone can not be VOIP as they are not set up for that. Can anyone help me please!
     
  2. EAFiedler

    EAFiedler Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2000
    Messages:
    14,172
    Hi crburke08

    Welcome to Tech Support Guy Forums!

    I have edited the title of your thread and added content to it. This will allow other members to get an idea of what your question is, as well as giving them a larger title to click on to access your thread.
     
  3. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    I don't understand the comment about not being able to use VoIP. If you're at home, what does that have to do with the company's capabilities? If you can't use VoIP, you can't use MagicJack either.

    Since you're at home, I'd suggest www.nettalk.com, they currently have a lifetime phone contract for $99.95, and it's an Ethernet connected adapter that doesn't require a connection. However, it is VoIP, as are virtually all the other Internet connected phone options like Vonage, etc.

    I currently have the NetTalk adapter for my daughter here, and I use two lines from ViaTalk for business communications.
     
  4. DoubleHelix

    DoubleHelix Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    24,388
  5. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    It's a mystery why they preclude folks like Vonage and the like, the cable company's phone is just VoIP anyway!
     
  6. DoubleHelix

    DoubleHelix Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    24,388
    My guess is for reliability. The company is outsourcing call center functions, so employees need to have a very reliable telephone connection.
     
  7. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    I've used VoIP for years, it's been very reliable. I've had Vonage for several years, and now I use ViaTalk. Both compare favorably with standard telephone lines. Truthfully, my daughter had more issues with Comcast Digital Voice than I've had with any VoIP service.
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/918903

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice