1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Mailmege problems

Discussion in 'Business Applications' started by archives, Jan 31, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. archives

    archives Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    We use a database software system for managing our archival records and produce catalogues by exporting a text file which then uses Mailmerge in word to produce a hard copy catalogue. This has worked fine with Word 2003 and previous versions but we have just got Office 2010.

    When we export the text file all the data is there but when we mailmerge the document each record appears on a new page. Word is putting in automatic section, new page breaks and I cannot find a way of stopping this. I have checked with the software supplier and the exported text file and mailmerge configuration file are correct. I have set up the mailmerge several times as instructed and chosen 'directory' as the document but the merge still results in one record per page.

    We can manually remove the section breaks after the document has merged but this is time consuming and unsuitable for large volumes of data. Also some of the columns in the data are not lining up correctly.

    Is there any way of changing the settings in Word to make this work properly, or any macro we can set up to correct the problem or remove the pagebreaks?

    Has anyone found a solution to this problem?
     
  2. 20_2_Many

    20_2_Many

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2012
    Messages:
    518
    http://www.techrepublic.com/blog/10...d-know-about-word-2010s-mail-merge-tools/2043
    Not sure if this link will help identify the issue. There is not sufficient info in the problem description to suggest very much for you. Are you using a document template to merge? Do you have a document that is ready made, and you add the mail merge fields? Are you using a previous document that has the fields added all ready and this is what is not working? Do you have any sample info you can upload here, like dummy data from you text file (for only about 3 merges), the doc or the template? If the link does not help, some exact information can help us jump start a resolution. Have you tried the 2010 Mail Merge Wizard?
     
  3. archives

    archives Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    We have a document template set up which already has the mailmerge fields set up. We can edit this to make changes. When we export from the cataloguing program CALM an SQL command is generated and the Word template opens and locates the text file for the merge. We can then preview the merge before finalising it or complete the merge and then edit the documents afterwards.
     
  4. archives

    archives Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Have checked the link but am already doing this. Have attached template and text file
     

    Attached Files:

  5. archives

    archives Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
    Messages:
    4
     
  6. Garf13LD

    Garf13LD

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2012
    Messages:
    455
    Press Ctrl+H to bring up the Replace dialog box.
    Then More > Special > Section Break.
    This will fill the ^b in "Find What", then click replace all with nothing in the "Replace With" field.
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Mailmege problems
  1. Nyrexial
    Replies:
    6
    Views:
    230
  2. ozziebeanie
    Replies:
    7
    Views:
    449
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1087652

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice