1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Major browser problem... please help

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by Skymx99, Jan 31, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Skymx99

    Skymx99 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2004
    Messages:
    34
    I'm not exactly sure what the problem could be here, but this is what is happening.

    I am running mozilla firefox 2.0 and Internet explorer. I have the same problem with both of them. From what I can tell, this basically only happens on sites you have to login to, but 80% of the the time you have to refresh the page like 15-20 times to get it to even load. Then once it does load, only a handful of pictures will display. Sometimes none of the style sheets or whatever the site uses loads either and it is just straight html. Also, none of the integrated media players will work. Places like you tube, myspace, etc. I have the latest flash, shockwave, and windows media players. From what I have read online there are some ActiveX problems with firefox, could this be a problem?

    I just moved from AZ to KY and did not have this problem in AZ. I wasn't on a router there though. But all other computers on the network work just fine.

    Any help will be greatly appreciated, this is the most annoying computer problem I have ever had. lol
     
  2. Augie65

    Augie65

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    6,052
    In IE, click on Tools> Internet Options> Content tab> AutoComplete button, and click the Clear Forms and Clear Passwords buttons then click OK. Go the the General tab and click Delete Cookies and Delete Files and select Delete all offline content on the dialog box, then click OK. Click Clear History button and then Apply and OK. Close IE and 0pen Firefox and click Tools and click Clear Private Data. Close Firefox and then try the sites again.
     
  3. Skymx99

    Skymx99 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2004
    Messages:
    34
    Thanks, but that didn't help. I also forgot to add that when I try to log onto AIM or MSN I have to connect like 15-20 times to get it to work too.
     
  4. Augie65

    Augie65

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    6,052
    When you moved, did you change the Time Zone for your computer? You can double click the clock (the time) and click on Time Zone tab and select your new time zone from the drop down.
     
  5. Skymx99

    Skymx99 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2004
    Messages:
    34
    Yeah, it's changed.
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/539975

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice