1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

MAJOR HELP NEEDED - System at 100%CPU

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by marcirb, Apr 12, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. marcirb

marcirb Thread Starter

If anyone can give me some help or other ideas to solve this - it would be much appreciated. My CPU is constantly running at 100%. It occassionally dips down if I am not running any programs at all. I have two hard drives in my computer at this time. One is a hardrive I have been using for the past 2 years and has all my old data that I desparately need on. The other Is a brand new hard drive with a clean version of win xp installed. I thought I had a virus to start with but I have run numerous virus checks with numerous programs in and out of safe mode and apart from two minor trojans that was deleted immediately - nothing comes up. It really appears that something is running in the background and using up all my resources but I cant find it.

Any help any one can give would be really appreciated.

Thank You! .

Marci

PS. I used the Hijacker tool and this is the log.

Logfile of HijackThis v1.97.7
    Scan saved at 1:44:02 PM, on 4/12/2004
    Platform: Windows XP SP1 (WinNT 5.01.2600)
    MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP1 (6.00.2800.1106)

Running processes:
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\smss.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\winlogon.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\services.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\lsass.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\Explorer.EXE
    C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccSetMgr.exe
    C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccEvtMgr.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\spoolsv.exe
    C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\RUNDLL32.EXE