1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Major Problem

Discussion in 'All Other Software' started by MWnumber1Fan, Sep 10, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. MWnumber1Fan

    MWnumber1Fan Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    74
    I hope someone can help. No one i have asked can help me. I had nortan antivirus 2004 and it said i had many viruses. It got rid of a few but left about 6 different ones because it couldnt delete them. So my school gave me a cd that was supposidly a better virus scan but i had to delete nortan. I ran the scan and it said i had no virus. But the problem is i think the viruses are keeping me from going online because i cant get on teh internet. I am on a network at school. The new virus scan probably doesnt work because it need updating. I dont remember the names of all of them because i am not using my cmop rite now. Some i remember are
    twaintec.dll
    atpartners.dll

    Does anyone know of a virus taht will prevent you from going online? If i get back online i can fix these but im stuck right now. If someoen can get back to me asap because i cant use this public computer for long. Thank you so much . Sorry this is so long but i need to get back on the internet so i can do homework. Thank you
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,371
    First Name:
    Wayne
    OK the problem will be that the best way would be to run hijackthis and then post the results - the secruity gurus will then advise what to delete - but clearly with you using a public PC - this maybe a problem.

    have a read here - theres a program which repairs winsock - called lpsfix
    http://forums.techguy.org/t110854.html

    you could download (links to downlod these are also listed in the above link)
    adaware and spybot and use them - however, they are large

    post a hjt log


    HIJACK THIS:

    Download and copy hijackthis to its own folder , it makes backups so keeping them separate and available can be useful.

    Note the Spyware tools websites are very often under attack and so I have provided more than 1 location to download from:

    http://www.tomcoyote.org/hjt/
    http://209.133.47.200/~merijn/downloads.html
    http://www.thespykiller.co.uk/
    http://www.majorgeeks.com/download3155.html
    http://www.sherrylynn.us/privacypolicy (this has an older version 1.97 - if you can not get to any of the above sites)

    Close all open windows and open Hijack This. Click “Scan”. When the scan is finished (it only takes a second), the scan button will change to “Save Log”.
    Click on “Save Log” and then save it to NotePad.
    Click on “Edit” – “Select all” – “copy” and then “paste” into the thread.
    DO NOT FIX ANYTHING wait advice from one of the many security experts in this forum.

    I currently do not have the skill/competence to advise and poor advice can be far more damaging to your PC with this software, and so I will be unable to add any advice on the log and so will nolonger be replying to your post with regards to the HJT issue, so please have patience and wait for one of the secruity experts to provide further detailed advice

    i will however, be notified when you post the log
     
  3. MWnumber1Fan

    MWnumber1Fan Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    74
    how do i get hijack this on my comp from here? and if i get it how can i post it? I think this is a hopless case :( i dont konw what to do
     
  4. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,371
    First Name:
    Wayne
  5. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,371
    First Name:
    Wayne
    as I said this is going to be a problem,

    mmmm I'm trying to think how to get over this.....

    can you remember if you had something like new.dot.net
     
  6. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,371
    First Name:
    Wayne
    when you connect to the web what happens
    can you ping anythin
    assuming winXP
    start>
    run>
    cmd>
    ping www.google.com

    see if you are connected and its just applications like IE that will not work.

    do you a messenger application - like MSN ????
    does that connect???
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/272483

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice