Major problems...

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Hibou

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 12, 2003
Messages
11
Well, where should I start? I guess I started having problems a few weeks ago as I noticed my system (PII 400, 256 megs, ATI Rage Fury, 17GB HD 7GB free, burner, etc) was slowing down dramaticaly when left idle for a few minutes. The HD kept working continuously. Wasn't too concerned at 1st, but it stated getting worse. So I did a cleanup (scandisk, defrag), but I had a very difficult time as something was continuously writing to my HD. I figured out how to stop all these running processes, so I finally was able to complete this cleanup. Ocassionally, the system would freeze and I had to turn the system off (with the switch) and restart. It did not help. I also ran a virus scan, and I removed a Jsnoclose thing, but that was it.

I then tried cleaning up the start up through msconfig, but that hasn't helped either. I recently tried Spybot, and that increased the speed of my system, but it still didn't fix the slowing down after idling problem, which is now quite bad as it can take 5 to 10 minutes to shut down (when that works).

Now, on top of everything else, my system displays at 640x480 in 16 colors and I cannot change it. I even got a few wierd error messages(kernel32 caused error, rundll32 caused error in mmsystem.dll). Anyway, I've tried several things and I have this feeling this house of cards is about to drop.

Can anyone shed some light, somewhere?
 

Hibou

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 12, 2003
Messages
11
oh yeah, running windows ME. The system, which I've had for about 2 years, had always run superbly.

Hibou
 
Joined
Feb 28, 2001
Messages
11,584
Hibou

Welcome to TSG!

We need to start somewhere with this so........
It is entirely possible you have missed a trojan, or virus or something on your system. So lets start with a free online scan at housecall.
http://housecall.antivirus.com/housecall/start_corp.asp

If anything is found let housecall help fix it and let us know what it was.

Also after scan download and run Startuplist. After it runs paste the results of its find back here for review.

http://www.lurkhere.com/~nicefiles/

Dave
 

Hibou

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 12, 2003
Messages
11
Thanks for the reply...

I have run a virus scan, but I'll try it again... and I'll try startuplist. I've just gone back to a full startup instead of a selective startup since I haven't seen a difference and I'd like to get my display back to a reasonable resolution as it's tough to read anything, but that didn't work (I tought maybe I was missing a driver)... I'm getting a lot of "rundll32 caused error"

Be back in a bit.

Hibou
 

Hibou

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 12, 2003
Messages
11
Well, I ran housecall and no virus was found. Anyway, here's the startup list.

Hibou

tartupList report, 1/13/2003, 10:52:25 PM
StartupList version: 1.50
Started from : C:\UNZIPPED\STARTUPLIST15\STARTUPLIST.EXE
Detected: Windows ME (Win9x 4.90.3000)
Detected: Internet Explorer v5.50 (5.50.4134.0100)
* Using default options
==================================================

Running processes:

C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\KERNEL32.DLL
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSGSRV32.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MPREXE.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSTASK.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\EXPLORER.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\TASKMON.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SYSTRAY.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\QTTASK.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\RESTORE\STMGR.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\REAL\REALPLAYER\REALPLAY.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\WINAMP\WINAMPA.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\WMIEXE.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\LEXBCES.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\RPCSS.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\MICROSOFT HARDWARE\GAME DEVICES\SIDEWINDER GDP.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\WEBSHOTS\WEBSHOTSTRAY.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\LEXPPS.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\DDHELP.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\PSTORES.EXE
C:\UNZIPPED\STARTUPLIST15\STARTUPLIST.EXE

--------------------------------------------------

Listing of startup folders:

Shell folders Startup:
[C:\WINDOWS\Start Menu\Programs\StartUp]
SideWinder Game Device Profiler.lnk = C:\Program Files\Microsoft Hardware\Game Devices\SideWinder GDP.exe
Webshots.lnk = C:\Program Files\Webshots\WebshotsTray.exe

--------------------------------------------------

Autorun entries from Registry:
HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run

ScanRegistry = C:\WINDOWS\scanregw.exe /autorun
TaskMonitor = C:\WINDOWS\taskmon.exe
PCHealth = C:\WINDOWS\PCHealth\Support\PCHSchd.exe -s
SystemTray = SysTray.Exe
AtiQiPcl = AtiQiPcl.exe
LexStart = Lexstart.exe
LoadPowerProfile = Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
QuickTime Task = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\QTTASK.EXE
InCD = C:\Program Files\ahead\InCD\InCD.exe
RealTray = C:\Program Files\Real\RealPlayer\RealPlay.exe SYSTEMBOOTHIDEPLAYER
WinampAgent = "C:\PROGRAM FILES\WINAMP\WINAMPa.exe"

--------------------------------------------------

Autorun entries from Registry:
HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\RunServices

*StateMgr = C:\WINDOWS\System\Restore\StateMgr.exe
ATIPOLAB = ati2evxx.exe
SchedulingAgent = mstask.exe
LoadPowerProfile = Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme

--------------------------------------------------

Autorun entries from Registry:
HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run

ATI Launchpad =

--------------------------------------------------

Enumerating Active Setup stub paths:
HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Active Setup\Installed Components
(* = disabled by HKCU twin)

[{89820200-ECBD-11cf-8B85-00AA005B4383}] *
StubPath = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\ie4uinit.exe

[{89820200-ECBD-11cf-8B85-00AA005B4395}] *
StubPath = regsvr32.exe /s /n /i:U shell32.dll

[>PerUser_MSN_Clean] *
StubPath = C:\WINDOWS\msnmgsr1.exe

[PerUser_LinkBar_URLs] *
StubPath = C:\WINDOWS\COMMAND\sulfnbk.exe /L

[{44BBA840-CC51-11CF-AAFA-00AA00B6015C}] *
StubPath = "C:\PROGRA~1\OUTLOO~1\setup50.exe" /APP:OE /CALLER:WIN9X /user /install

[{7790769C-0471-11d2-AF11-00C04FA35D02}] *
StubPath = "C:\PROGRA~1\OUTLOO~1\setup50.exe" /APP:WAB /CALLER:WIN9X /user /install

--------------------------------------------------

Load/Run keys from C:\WINDOWS\WIN.INI:

load=
run=

--------------------------------------------------

Shell & screensaver key from C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM.INI:

Shell=
SCRNSAVE.EXE=
drivers=

--------------------------------------------------

Checking for EXPLORER.EXE instances:

C:\WINDOWS\Explorer.exe: PRESENT!

C:\Explorer.exe: not present
C:\WINDOWS\Explorer\Explorer.exe: not present
C:\WINDOWS\System\Explorer.exe: not present
C:\WINDOWS\System32\Explorer.exe: not present
C:\WINDOWS\Command\Explorer.exe: not present

--------------------------------------------------

C:\WINDOWS\WININIT.BAK listing:
(Created 12/1/2003, 21:35:48)

[Rename]
c:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MMSYSTEM.DLL=c:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SCU32F1.TMP

--------------------------------------------------

C:\AUTOEXEC.BAT listing:

SET windir=C:\WINDOWS
SET winbootdir=C:\WINDOWS
SET COMSPEC=C:\WINDOWS\COMMAND.COM
SET PATH=C:\WINDOWS;C:\WINDOWS\COMMAND
SET PROMPT=$p$g
SET TEMP=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP
SET TMP=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP

--------------------------------------------------

C:\WINDOWS\WINSTART.BAT listing:

@C:\WINDOWS\tmpcpyis.bat

--------------------------------------------------

Checking for superhidden extensions:

.lnk: HIDDEN! (arrow overlay: yes)
.pif: HIDDEN! (arrow overlay: yes)
.exe: not hidden
.com: not hidden
.bat: not hidden
.hta: not hidden
.scr: not hidden
.shs: HIDDEN!
.shb: HIDDEN!
.vbs: not hidden
.vbe: not hidden
.wsh: not hidden
.scf: HIDDEN! (arrow overlay: NO!)
.url: HIDDEN! (arrow overlay: yes)
.js: not hidden
.jse: not hidden

--------------------------------------------------

Enumerating Task Scheduler jobs:

Tune-up Application Start.job
PCHealth Scheduler for Data Collection.job

--------------------------------------------------

Enumerating Download Program Files:

[Shockwave Flash Object]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MACROMED\FLASH\FLASH.OCX
CODEBASE = http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab

[QuickTime Object]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\QTPLUGIN.OCX
CODEBASE = http://www.apple.com/qtactivex/qtplugin.cab

[Update Class]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\IUCTL.DLL
CODEBASE = http://v4.windowsupdate.microsoft.com/CAB/x86/ansi/iuctl.CAB?37587.8318981482

[McFreeScan Class]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\MCAFEE.COM\FREESCAN\MCFSCAN.DLL
CODEBASE = http://download.mcafee.com/molbin/iss-loc/vso/en-us/tools/mcfscan/1,4,0,4237/mcfscan.cab

[HouseCall Control]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLO~1\XSCAN53.OCX
CODEBASE = http://a840.g.akamai.net/7/840/537/2002121801/housecall.antivirus.com/housecall/xscan53.cab

--------------------------------------------------
End of report, 6,688 bytes
Report generated in 0.524 seconds

Command line options:
/verbose - to add additional info on each section
/complete - to include empty sections and unsuspicious data
/force9x - to include Win9x-only startups even if running on WinNT
/forcent - to include WinNT-only startups even if running on Win9x
/forceall - to include all Win9x and WinNT startups, regardless of platform
/history - to list version history only
 

Hibou

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 12, 2003
Messages
11
While this may well be a operating system problem, I'm starting to wonder if there isn't a hardware problem (i.e. video card). I ran a diagnotics on the card (ATI rage fury) and the pipeline burst test basicaly blanked the screen (they say it should last a few minutes...) for about 45 minutes until I had to shut down manually as there was no signal to the monitor and nothing was responding.
Anyway, just to add to everything said, I ran a system info amd I'm getting 100% kernel usage when the computer is bogged down (and nothing is running except usual ongoing stuff). Go figure.
Maybe I'll splash some Holy Water on it...

Hibou
 
Joined
Dec 9, 2000
Messages
45,855
From your startup list it looks like you are missing the system.ini entry described here:

http://support.microsoft.com/?kbid=138835

I don't know if it is causing the slow down problem, but it is likely responsible for the rundll32 and mmsystem.dll errors.

The system.ini file can be edited easily by going to start>run and entering system.ini so that it opens in Notepad. Make the suggested correction and save the file. It looks like currently the drivers= line is just empty, with nothing after it.

Correct that first and see if the other problems persist.

There is also a free program called ProcessExplorer available here, which can help in identifying the particular process which is consuming so much cpu time.

http://www.sysinternals.com/win9x/98utilities.shtml

It may be something associated with a sound or video codec which the lack of the mmsystem.dll is buggering up

Drivers for your Rage Fury are available here, you may need to update or reinstall.

http://www.ati.com/support/products/pc/rage128/rage128drivers.html

Also, think back, what did you do on 12/1 that might have modified or replaced the mmsystem.dll:


C:\WINDOWS\WININIT.BAK listing:
(Created 12/1/2003, 21:35:48)

[Rename]
c:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MMSYSTEM.DLL=c:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SCU32F1.TMP
 
Joined
Jan 7, 2003
Messages
662
Hi folks,

I don't know about the system slowing down and the restartin
problem ect. But I too once had a display problem, which
sounds similar to your own, could not rest the system to it's correct
resolution. I checked msconfig and the system.ini radio button
had deselected its self. Once I reselected it and rebooted
everything is great.
 

Hibou

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 12, 2003
Messages
11
Well, I did the system.ini addition (added drivers=mmsystem.dll) and rebooted, tried to readjust the display settings and nothing. I also checked the system.ini tab in msconfig, and the display folder is empty... could this be part of the problem? Right now, the system slowing down is secondary; I really need to get away from 640x480 in 16 colors as it's pulling my eyes out. I'll try downloading the ATI drivers once again and see how that works.

As for what started it all, I can't be sure as the slowdown problem only ocurs when left idle 10 or 15 minutes, so it tough to place an exact date. I did install a burner a few month's ago, and I just recently got a digital camera (Olympus). Maybe the display problem is associated with this...

Hibou

FYI, my system.ini contents are as follows:

[default]
WaveBlockLen=688
WaveBlocks=5
Remix=1

rd.typ=Standard 101/102-Key or Microsoft Natural Keyboard
aspect=100,96,96
display.drv=Rage Fury

[386Enh]
ebios=*ebios
woafont=dosapp.fon
mouse=*vmouse, msmouse.vxd
device=*dynapage
device=*vcd
device=*vpd
device=*int13
device=*enable
keyboard=*vkd
display=*vdd,*vflatd

[NonWindowsApp]
TTInitialSizes=4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 18 20 22

[power.drv]

[drivers]
wavemapper=*.drv
MSACM.imaadpcm=*.acm
MSACM.msadpcm=*.acm
wave=mmsystem.dll
midi=mmsystem.dll

[iccvid.drv]

[mciseq.drv]

[mci]
cdaudio=mcicda.drv
sequencer=mciseq.drv
waveaudio=mciwave.drv
avivideo=mciavi.drv
videodisc=mcipionr.drv
vcr=mcivisca.drv
MPEGVideo2=mciqtz.drv
DvdVidEx=MciCinem.drv DVD
MpegVideo=MciCinem.drv DVD
DvdVideo=MciCinem.drv DVD

[vcache]

[MSNP32]

[Password Lists]
GUY=C:\WINDOWS\GUY.PWL









[Display]

[drivers32]
msacm.lhacm=lhacm.acm
VIDC.VDOM=vdowave.drv
msacm.msaudio1=msaud32.acm
msacm.sl_anet=sl_anet.acm
MSACM.imaadpcm=imaadp32.acm
MSACM.msadpcm=msadp32.acm
MSACM.msgsm610=msgsm32.acm
MSACM.msg711=msg711.acm
MSACM.trspch=tssoft32.acm
vidc.CVID=iccvid.dll
vidc.MSVC=msvidc32.dll
VIDC.MRLE=msrle32.dll
msacm.msg723=msg723.acm
vidc.M263=msh263.drv
vidc.M261=msh261.drv
VIDC.IV50=ir50_32.dll
msacm.iac2=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\IAC25_32.AX
msacm.l3acm=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\L3CODECA.ACM
VIDC.UYVY=msyuv.dll
msacm.voxacm160=vct3216.acm
VIDC.IV41=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\IR41_32.AX
VIDC.iv32=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\IR32_32.DLL
VIDC.iv31=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\IR32_32.DLL

[drivers]
wave=mmsystem.dll

[drivers]
midi=mmsystem.dll

[Password Lists]
GUY=C:\WINDOWS\GUY000.PWL

[boot]
*DisplayFallback=0
drivers=mmsystem.dll
 

Hibou

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 12, 2003
Messages
11
Oh yeah, I might know what happened on 12/01/03 - I ran Spybot, and it's possible it was on that day. Should I restore?

Hibou
 
Joined
Oct 27, 2001
Messages
2,578
Start/Run. Type in msconfig. Select the startup tab. Uncheck the entry for PCHealth. It has been known to cause problems of this sort.

Good luck.

Kilowatt
 

Hibou

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 12, 2003
Messages
11
The new drivers worked! It's funny, I had downloaded the drivers yesterday, but I hadn't installed them... sometimes, we look for trouble where it isn't. I still don't know how or why they dissapeared in the 1st place. I'll monitor my slowdown problem and advise as to what's going on.

Thanks,

Hibou
 
Joined
Dec 9, 2000
Messages
45,855
I don't know why you were seing a blank system.ini in msconfig, but if it weren't being loaded, that would explain the resolution problem as well. Has it re-appeared? It's not unchecked on the general page is it?

And the file is in c:\windows isn't it? If it were moved, it might still load but not be seen by msconfig.
 
Joined
Feb 28, 2001
Messages
11,584
Hibou
Glad that psrt is fixed. Here is further reference to what KW is saying about PCHealth which in turn engages wmiexe.exe excessivly consuming resources.
http://groups.google.com/groups?q=w...TF-8&[email protected]&rnum=4
Have never experienced that problem on any of my WinME machines though.

I am curious on what you mean the System.ini folder is empty in msconfig under system.ini tab. Attached is a screenshot of what this WinME machines msconfig system.ini tab window looks like.

Is the system.ini located in C:\Windows folder?

Opps I see Rog is asking the same question!:D

Dave
 

Attachments

Hibou

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 12, 2003
Messages
11
Maybe I wasn't precise enough about the system.ini tab in msconfig - there were folders, similar to those in your screenshot, but I have another folder named "display" which was and still is empty. And yes, the box is checked. It doesn't seem to affect the display, as that part seems to be okay. I hope that clears things up.

As for the bogging down problem, I'll leave my system to idle for 30 minutes or so, check again and post an update.

Hibou
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top