1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Making my "locked" DVD-ROM region free

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Wind_Danzer, Feb 1, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Wind_Danzer

    Wind_Danzer Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2001
    Messages:
    76
    Anyone have any idea? I'm interested in being able to play all DVD versions.

    Thanks
     
  2. sitaversion

    sitaversion

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2003
    Messages:
    5
    well it depends mostly on the type of dvd drive you have..... example i have sony dvd 12x drive which is actually a re-badged liteon drive. i found a hack that turned it back to a liteon drive (the bios and windows reports it as a liteon drive) and i've also got a hack for the liteon drive that turns it region-free. its just a matter of finding the appropriate hack for your drive.
     
  3. VirtualMe

    VirtualMe

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2002
    Messages:
    867
  4. vynsane

    vynsane

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2003
    Messages:
    70
    unfortunately dvdgenie only works if your region coding is software based... if it's FIRMware based, you have to flash your hardware, risking damaging your hardware permananently... dvdgenie gets ride of region coding with programs, not drives...
     
  5. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Region Free claims to solve this problem for hardware or software locked DVD drives.
     
  6. Wind_Danzer

    Wind_Danzer Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2001
    Messages:
    76
    Got Region Free.... now I just need a DVD other than region 1 to test it out with. :D

    Thanks for the suggestion.
     
  7. Mahmud603

    Mahmud603

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    Messages:
    153
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/116515

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice