Malware Bytes AVG Issue

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

sidbub

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 8, 2002
Messages
669
Seems like I am now unable to run Mbam. AVG resident shield pops up red warning it detected a backdoor trojan file name mbamcore.dll. It puts it in the virus vault. Anyone have any comments? I am running Mbam on another computer which uses antivir. No issue when I go to run it with any detections. Any comments and is anyone else experiencing this?
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
82,465
Get rid of AVG 2011(10.0) or whatever version you're using and replace it with Microsoft Security Essentials 2.0.627.0.

--------------------------------------------------------------------
 

sidbub

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 8, 2002
Messages
669
I am not using AVG 2011, I am using AVG 9.0.872. The only way I can reinstall it is to shut off AVG, then run Mbam, and then set that file as an exception. MS Essentials would be my next choice if needed. Thanks for comments.
 

Cookiegal

Karen
Administrator
Malware Specialist Coordinator
Joined
Aug 27, 2003
Messages
118,516
It looks like an emerging false positive of two files that belong to MBAM. I would expect a confirmation later today.
 
Joined
Dec 24, 2010
Messages
2
I'm having the same issues. The files are mbamnet.dll and mbamcore.dll

I have added them to the allow list in the resident shield on AVG (which stops it from popping up and asking me to remove), and I have also added them to the PUP exceptions, however whenever you scan the computer, these files still show up as a threat on the scan. Pretty annoying.

Regardless, since adding them to the allowed lists, I have had zero problems running Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware, so we'll see if that holds up or not. I (and many others) have notified AVG of the files that are incorrectly marked as infected. Hopefully they will have an update out soon that fixes this issue.

BTW, I'm using AVG 2011 free edition.
 

sidbub

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 8, 2002
Messages
669
Thanks for that. I will do that next time I am on that computer.
 
Joined
Dec 24, 2010
Messages
2
Hello all! Just wanted to sa that I am another one having the same problem...... :-(
Regards.
 
Joined
Dec 24, 2010
Messages
2
Just download the latest AVG update (426/3336), ran a scan and it did not pinpoint those files as infected any longer. In other words, update your AVG definitions now, and the problem should be solved.

Merry Christmas.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top