managing cookies in IE9

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

don_1953

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 8, 2006
Messages
77
I'm not even sure if this is possible. I work for a company doing tech support, we have an online program that our subscribers use to research information about corporate aircraft around the world. We license it on a per user basis, when a user logs on for the first time, the login attempt stores a cookie on their computer. All subsequent login attempts are managed by this cookie, it stores their username and also stores their password for eight hours. If they login from a different computer, we can tell, they can still login in "travel" mode, or, if they are switching to an new computer, they will have an option to make it their Authorized machine.
If they delete their browsing history and cookies, it of course deletes the cookie and now they get the "Not Authorized" prompt. After switching computer more than a limited number of times, the user is effectively locked out of the program, until I reset the login switch counter for their account. This is very annoying for some subscribers who want to continually purge their cookies and browsing history at the end of every browsing session. I thought by going to the Security and Privacy tabs in the Internet Options windows and choosing to adding our website to "Trusted" and adding our site to the "Managed websites" list that it would save the cokkie and prevent it from being swept out when a subscriber deletes all browsing history. However even with these stting changes, our cookies are being deleted along with everything else.
Is there a way to do a "delete all browsing history except for" option?
 

Couriant

James
Moderator
Joined
Mar 26, 2002
Messages
37,698
Not that I am aware of. I would be interested in this answer too.
 

Phantom010

Retired Trusted Advisor
Joined
Mar 9, 2009
Messages
34,796
How about putting the website in your Favorites? Then, in Tools > Internet Options > General > Browsing history > Delete..., tick the "Preserve Favorites website data" box?
 

Couriant

James
Moderator
Joined
Mar 26, 2002
Messages
37,698
How about putting the website in your Favorites? Then, in Tools > Internet Options > General > Browsing history > Delete..., tick the "Preserve Favorites website data" box?
(y) I thought about this after my post and didn't check IE settings until now. That should work for IE... I would assume Chrome and Firefox that should have the same feature.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top