1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

mandrake 8.2 install problems

Discussion in 'Linux and Unix' started by cwacura2001, Feb 7, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. cwacura2001

cwacura2001 Thread Starter

Hey guys i have an older emachine 366mhz with 64 megs of ram and i am trying to put mandrake 8.2 on it just to learn and expierement but during the install process when I choose use the entire disk it sayd that hda1 is no such device and i choose all the other partitioning and formatting options and i alwasy get no such device for hda1 but i have a 4 GB hard drive in on the master IDE and i already undid plug and play in the BIOS. Any thought s i am very new to linux and needs some pointers.

Thx

Chris

2. lynch

lynch

Did you check the hdd jumpers to see if they're set correctly?Is there anything on the drive?How does the bios see the hdd?Check bios and make sure it's set to auto.
    HTH:)
    lynch

3. cwacura2001