1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Manual Internet Connection failing in WXP

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by Gram123, Dec 30, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Gram123

    Gram123 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2001
    Messages:
    1,829
    Hi.
    My brother received Windows XP as a Christmas present, and installed it immediately.
    We are having a problem with Internet Explorer / our ISP software CD.
    I am aware that the software on the disc can not be used with WXP, and they can currently offer no tech support for XP users. The official web site of the ISP suggest making a manual connection and has a step-by-step guide to adding the correct phone number to dial and the DNS server addresses etc.

    I have entered all of the relevant info and successfully set up an internet connection (the "connected" icon appears in the System Tray), however IE refuses to find a server, so no web pages can be found at all. Clicking the "detect network settings" hyperlink does nothing either.

    Other than dual booting with W98, does anyone have any suggestions on how we can get connected?

    Cheers,
    Gram
     
  2. $teve

    $teve

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2001
    Messages:
    9,396
    check your connection settings gram,it sounds like it may be set to connect at a very low rate.......if thats the case,set it to the highest it will allow eg:115.2
    hope this helps.
     
  3. Gram123

    Gram123 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2001
    Messages:
    1,829
    $teve,
    It's set to 115200. There are a couple higher than this on his PC (my own only goes up to 115200).

    Someone said it could be due to the DNS addresses being incorrect, but I copied these verbatim.

    Any other ideas?
     
  4. Gram123

    Gram123 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2001
    Messages:
    1,829
    Okay, I tried disabling the XP firewall, just in case, but this had no effect either.
    After 'connecting', if I open IE, I get the dialog box saying "You need to connect" with a connect button.
    It's like IE doesn't recognise the fact that the connection is in operation.

    Also, maybe unrelated, maybe not, In My Computer, if I double click any of "Dial up phone books", "Dialling locations" or "Internet Connections", I get the rather ominous error "CATASTROPHIC FAILURE".
    Ooh I don't like the sound of that.

    Gram
     
  5. Dan O

    Dan O

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 1999
    Messages:
    8,974
    It sounds like the DNS is still incorrect. Go to a Command Prompt and type IPCONFIG

    Post back what is displayed and the URL (www.xxx.xxx) of the ISP's instruction so we can verify them with you.
     
  6. Gram123

    Gram123 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2001
    Messages:
    1,829
    Dan O - There is nothing listed when I enter ipconfig at the command prompt - Just "Windows IP Configuration" followed by a couple of blank lines and then another prompt.
    Is this because we are using dial-up?

    The homepage URL is http://www.ntlworld.com/

    Gram
     
  7. Dan O

    Dan O

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 1999
    Messages:
    8,974
    You must not be using standard TCP/IP as your communication protocol, but some proprietary protocol. How it's linked with IE is a mystery to me. I looked at the link you provided but it is not clear. Because it non standard you need to deal with the ISP directly. This is what you should get if you enter: IPCONFIG /all

    PPP adapter CompuServe:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : WAN (PPP/SLIP) Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-53-45-00-00-00
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 216.192.8.23
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.255
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 216.192.8.23
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 209.154.9.74
    209.154.9.37
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

    Good luck.
     
  8. Marc123

    Marc123

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2001
    Messages:
    15
    Originally, we were connected using software provided by the phone company. It had a "front end" that looked like this:

    <img src="http://forums.techguy.org/attachment.php?s=&postid=313704">

    Following the instructions at the ISP help page, it says we can create a DUN using these DNS Servers: 194.168.4.100 and 194.168.8.100 and the IP address ste to "Obtain automatically".
    We have a free phone number, username and password that we were issued with when we originally registered using Win 98.

    Does this shed any light on the problem?

    Marc
     

    Attached Files:

    • ntl.jpg
      ntl.jpg
      File size:
      41.9 KB
      Views:
      149
  9. Marc123

    Marc123

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2001
    Messages:
    15
    Using Gram's PC, and entering ipconfig /all, there is quite a bit of info displayed, seemingly based on three network adapters, and looking similar to what you posted.
    However, these adapters do not appear under my (XP) network configuration.
     
  10. Marc123

    Marc123

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2001
    Messages:
    15
    When we checked the IP info last time we were not connected, these are the results from the check while we were online on the computer which has the fault:

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name..............: BILL1
    Primary Dns Suffix.....
    Node Type..............: Unknown
    IP Routing Enabled.....: No
    WINS Proxy Enabled.....: No

    PPP adapter NTL:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix .:
    Description ....................: WAN (PPP/SLIP) Interface
    Physical Address................: 00-53-45-00-00-00
    Dhcp Enabled....................: No
    IP Address......................: **.***.**.*** (the number was there but just to be on the safer side)
    Subnet Mask.....................: 255.255.255.255
    Default Gateway.................: 194.168.4.100
    194.168.8.100
    NetBIOS over Tcpip..............: Disabled

    A little more promising as it looks a lot like the example you gave.
     
  11. Dan O

    Dan O

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 1999
    Messages:
    8,974
    I was e-mailed:

    It says Dhcp Disabled, even though the IP address is set to "Obtain automatically". Could this have something to do with the problem?

    No, for some reason it is shown incorrectly. If view my example I have NO also.

    What's not right is no DSN and two Gateway addresses. XP must be confused. I recommend you delete all Internet and Network connections, reboot, and then add the Internet connection. Use the Control Panel and the Network and Internet Connections.

    I had to do the same to get a new modem to work. Everything appeared correct but the modem would not work until I started over.
     
  12. Gram123

    Gram123 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2001
    Messages:
    1,829
    I got some other advice saying I should refresh the Comms.
    How do I go about doing this in XP?
    The modem is connected to Com port 3, however, under Device manager/Ports there are only LPT, Com1 and Com2 listed.

    Gram
     
  13. Gram123

    Gram123 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2001
    Messages:
    1,829
    Dan O - the 2 gateways and no DNS was a typo on my brother's part, sorry. It should have read:

    PPP adapter NTL:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix .:
    Description ....................: WAN (PPP/SLIP) Interface
    Physical Address................: 00-53-45-00-00-00
    Dhcp Enabled....................: No
    IP Address......................: **.***.**.*** (the number was there but just to be on the safe side)
    Subnet Mask.....................: 255.255.255.255
    Default Gateway.................: 213.104.33.154
    DNS Servers........................:194.168.4.100
    194.168.8.100
    NetBIOS over Tcpip..............: Disabled

    Gram
     
  14. Gram123

    Gram123 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2001
    Messages:
    1,829
    I'm tempted to install Win XP on my machine and see if I can connect or not. I know that other people have succesfully connected using DUN after installing the XP upgrade, so it may work for me.
    However, if it doesn't work, then we're stuck without any internet access at all.

    Is there a quick way to revert to Win 98 (without doing a clean install), if I install the XP upgrade on my machine and the net access fails?

    The other problems I may have could be
    1) This OpenGL error. However, prior to installing my graphics card, I was using onboard graphics, so I didn't need to remove an old card, and so this shouldn't be a problem.
    and
    2) I still don't know what causes (or how to solve) the "Catastrophic Failure" errors when I double click any of "Dial up phone books", "Dialling locations" or "Internet Connections" in My Computer on the XP machine.

    Thanks for your continued assistance!
    Gram
     
  15. Dan O

    Dan O

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 1999
    Messages:
    8,974
    Showing LPT, Com1 and Com2 is normal as they are hardware ports. The modem creates it own, in your case Com3.

    For PPP dial-up the client and Gateway should be the same IP address.

    Refreshing the Com port to me is the sane as I descripted. If you have problems doing it try doing it in Safe Mode, which is access by depressingg F8 during boot up.

    I dual boot between XP and 98SE, I recommend you do the same so not to lose all connections to the Internet. I read you can uninstall XP by using Add/Remove if you upgrade but I have not tied it.

    The OpenGL should not be related to your other problems.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Manual Internet Connection
  1. Rose789
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    485
  2. dragster1981
    Replies:
    17
    Views:
    1,365
  3. vbivins
    Replies:
    13
    Views:
    671
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/63537

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice