Manual proxy

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Cookiegal

Karen
Administrator
Malware Specialist Coordinator
Joined
Aug 27, 2003
Messages
117,181
I thought it you knew when it started you could so a system restore to just before that. Otherwise, I don't really have any further suggestions unfortunately.
 

Macboatmaster

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Jan 14, 2010
Messages
23,834
1. On your system spec on this topic you show on your opening post
Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.9
OS Version: Microsoft Windows 10 Home, 64 bit, Build 18363, Installed 20190831195100.000000-300
Processor: AMD FX(tm)-8320 Eight-Core Processor, AMD64 Family 21 Model 2 Stepping 0, CPU Count: 8
Total Physical RAM: 32 GB
Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 950
Hard Drives: C: 418 GB (351 GB Free);
Motherboard: ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC. M5A97 LE R2.0, ver Rev 1.xx, s/n 151261538100517
System: American Megatrends Inc., ver ALASKA - 1072009, s/n To be filled by O.E.M.
Antivirus: Windows Defender, Disabled

2. This appears to me to be the same computer as on your previous topic regarding Windows Spotlight

Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.4
OS Version: Microsoft Windows 10 Home, 64 bit
Processor: AMD FX(tm)-8320 Eight-Core Processor, AMD64 Family 21 Model 2 Stepping 0
Processor Count: 8
RAM: 32668 Mb
Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 950, -2048 Mb
Hard Drives: C: 418 GB (331 GB Free); E: 419 GB (261 GB Free);
Motherboard: ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC., M5A97 LE R2.0
Antivirus: Windows Defender, Enabled and Updated

3. except for the additional detail provided by the system info on this topic, the first one listed, which is our newer version.
On the first one Windows Defender is shown as disabled and reading the topic I think you have Malwarebytes premium installed
Good as it is for protection purposes there have been instances recently of it appearing to cause problems on windows 10, especially with relation to internet use and Defender settings.

4. I suspect having read the topic that you MAY possibly need to refer to proxy settings in Malwarebytes. Usually the example shown in post 6 is the settings, but if those are correct, then please check the settings in malwarebytes for Proxy Server as here
https://www.malwarebytes.com/support/guides/mbam-legacy/Settings.html

albeit that is not the current guide for proxy settings on Malwarebytes the principle is the same.

5. Could you kindly confirm, if you still need help, that this IS the setting you refer to OR is the one in the example posted by my colleague, which is of course the usual setting.

6. The error reported on the running of the cmd
0x80070057
may actually be an issue with the windows file system OR it could possibly be connected with the inability to change settings in Malwarebytes and the apparent mouse problem.

7. IMHO the problems need further examination.
I will await your reply.
 
Last edited:

Macboatmaster

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Jan 14, 2010
Messages
23,834
Further to my post above, I have realised that on your post 7 you say
I have all LAN settings check boxes unchecked...MBAM Premium installed, no malware found.
May I point out that you do not want them ALL unchecked - you want the "automatically detect settings box - CHECKED - as on my colleagues screenshot.

This setting can also be made via settings on windows 10
Go to settings, right hand corner of taskbar notifications area
network then network and internet settings - the
on window that opens proxy on left hand pane
on main window
automatically detect settings should be checked
and below that
Use Proxy Server should be OFF
Then SAVE by clicking on the save button.
See my screenshot please
Untitled.png

Finally if those settings do not solve the problem - especially the checking of automatically detect settings - then please check if you have configured, some setting in malwarebytes AND do you have any software installed that is some manner of internet connection management.
 

birdsfriend

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 7, 2016
Messages
26
Further to my post above, I have realised that on your post 7 you say


May I point out that you do not want them ALL unchecked - you want the "automatically detect settings box - CHECKED - as on my colleagues screenshot.

This setting can also be made via settings on windows 10
Go to settings, right hand corner of taskbar notifications area
network then network and internet settings - the
on window that opens proxy on left hand pane
on main window
automatically detect settings should be checked
and below that
Use Proxy Server should be OFF
Then SAVE by clicking on the save button.
See my screenshot please
View attachment 277380

Finally if those settings do not solve the problem - especially the checking of automatically detect settings - then please check if you have configured, some setting in malwarebytes AND do you have any software installed that is some manner of internet connection management.
OK thanks...I did now check "Automatically detect settings" to "ON"and "Use proxy server to "OFF"....but!, "Save"is greyed out and not available.
 

Macboatmaster

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Jan 14, 2010
Messages
23,834
1.
Issue with "Manual Proxy Server" i.e. "Use Proxy Server" setting .... I do not want to use a "proxy server" so I set "manual proxy server" to "OFF" and it will not stay off whenever I check setting not long after it will be set to "ON" all on it's own
2. Before your last post 19 was Automatically detect settings, filled in eg black and ON
If it was not, that may well be the problem
On that setting ALONE there is NO SAVE
Save applies to Use Setup script or the lower entry Use Proxy Server.
MORE IMPORTANTLY - if that was the case that automatically detect settings was not turned on
Does it still change to Proxy Server - ON please.

3. Have you checked if Windows Defender is turned on.
With Malwarebytes Windows Defender can still be turned on and Malwarebytes Premium V4 kept for scanning for various aspects of Malwarebytes protection that Malwarebytes say MAY NOT be covered by Defender
https://www.howtogeek.com/225385/wh...r-windows-10-is-windows-defender-good-enough/
If you do not do that Malwarebytes V4 will automatically become the ACTIVE protection and Defender will be turned off.


4. Is Windows updates working.? - open settings update and security - windows update on left pane. On main window does it say UP to Date and underneath that click check for updates. Please report what happens.

5. Open a cmd prompt with admin rights and type

sfc /scannow
I do not need the logs please just post the result
No errors found all system files in order
Errors found and corrected or
Errors could NOT be fixed.
 

birdsfriend

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 7, 2016
Messages
26
1.

2. Before your last post 19 was Automatically detect settings, filled in eg black and ON
If it was not, that may well be the problem
On that setting ALONE there is NO SAVE
Save applies to Use Setup script or the lower entry Use Proxy Server.
MORE IMPORTANTLY - if that was the case that automatically detect settings was not turned on
Does it still change to Proxy Server - ON please.

3. Have you checked if Windows Defender is turned on.
With Malwarebytes Windows Defender can still be turned on and Malwarebytes Premium V4 kept for scanning for various aspects of Malwarebytes protection that Malwarebytes say MAY NOT be covered by Defender
https://www.howtogeek.com/225385/wh...r-windows-10-is-windows-defender-good-enough/
If you do not do that Malwarebytes V4 will automatically become the ACTIVE protection and Defender will be turned off.


4. Is Windows updates working.? - open settings update and security - windows update on left pane. On main window does it say UP to Date and underneath that click check for updates. Please report what happens.

5. Open a cmd prompt with admin rights and type

sfc /scannow
I do not need the logs please just post the result
No errors found all system files in order
Errors found and corrected or
Errors could NOT be fixed.
See SFC scan results, Windows updates works normally and is always current.SFC scan results.JPG
 

Macboatmaster

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Jan 14, 2010
Messages
23,834
BTW - When I logged on today I checked Proxy settings!...it reverted back to "on' for manual proxy setup and automatically detect settings "off" again!...(Before I did SFC /scannow).
Presuming that it is still reverting back to ON, there have been reports of this occurring due to software acquired unknowlingly, with FREE download software

Please run a Windows Defender off line scan
Settings > Update & Security > Windows Security > Virus & threat protection
Under Current threats, select Scan options.
Select Microsoft Defender Offline scan, and then select Scan now.

You'll be prompted that you're about to be signed out of Windows. After you are, your PC should restart. Microsoft Defender Offline will load and perform a quick scan of your PC in the recovery environment. When the scan has finished (usually takes about 15 minutes), your PC will automatically restart.
In the notifications area after a few minutes you should receive a notification of the results
If you do not you can find the results
Windows Security > Virus & threat protection .
Current threats, select Scan options, and then select Protection history
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top