Many Windows XP Problems! HELP!

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

heeylaurax0

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 18, 2011
Messages
16
Hi, my name is Laura and I'm currently working off my office computer. Two summers ago, we had purchased a scanner that had been working until about this passed summer. This passed summer, my computer completely died: blue screen of death every five seconds-- the whole nine yards. So, our tech-guy decided to copy my employer's hard drive and use it to create my "refurbished" computer. When he did this, the scanner no longer worked; however, our Brother HL-2270 worked fine (assumed no USB connection issue).

Because I needed a more heavy-duty printer, we purchased the Brother DCP-7065DN. Upon installing the software, I saw that the copier and printing sides of the printer had worked. However, I needed the scanner to work as well. So in efforts to fix this issue, I uninstalled, and re installed the program. Repeated this process over the course of maybe four days. After uninstalling and reinstalling one time, I saw that the scanner had been working (only through the computer command, not through the keys on the printer) and tested the printer. Now, the copier and scanning works, however the printer does not.

So, I uninstalled the program. Now, I am trying to reinstall the program, and it always gets stuck on the "Plug in the USB Cable" page. The computer is not recognizing the USB port I plugged the printer into. So, I tried every other port behind the tower. No luck.

Please let me know what I have to do to make this work! I downloaded Advanced System Care 5 to scan for any errors in my registry, detect any malware, and it fixed whatever it found. But still no printer :(.

Please help!

Thank you!
 

Byteman

Gone but Never Forgotten
Joined
Jan 24, 2002
Messages
17,742
Hi, My first reccomendation would be to make sure you have UNinstalled any no longer used printer or scanner software>

then, using the links I have below, go and familarize yourself with the Brother support area I have linked below as well, and get the user manual, go through that and the FAQ's they have at the support site.......

SKIP that Registry cleaner, they often create problems, we realize they seem like instant magic to many folks....there are hundreds of threads on our site here where users have had severe problems from using these optimizing programs..you are lucky in that it looks like your machine has not had any serious problem from this!



If you are able to, in the printer driver "Properties" window (which you see when you right-click on the Printer icon in the Scanners and Printer folder in Control Panel...)

you should see a "Port" tab that opens a list....often, the default is LPT1 which would be the older type of connection....the wide, screw-in type of plug>>> and you may need to manually change this setting to a USB port..... by selecting "USB 002" " or similar USB in the list. Try all those USB ports.

To get a scanner to reinstall correctly, sometimes there are two folders that need to be deleted manually after UNinstalling the printer/scanner software.
Have you been through the user manual and/or looked at the support information availabe online?

Contact Customer Service>>>> you may find it easiest to ask for tech help from Brother!
http://www.brother-usa.com/askus/default.aspx?PGID=5&R3ModelID=1814

http://welcome.solutions.brother.co...p.html?reg=us&c=us&lang=en&prod=dcp7065dn_all

http://www.brother-usa.com/support/default.aspx?PGID=5&R3ModelID=DCP7065DN

Hope this helps, and speaking from much experience, I sympathize with you completely, knowing the many ins and outs of this type of hardware installation firsthand, it's a lesson in patience and perserverance but I am sure you will sort it out.

Let me know if you are seeing the USB port as set in the printer driver. Might be I can look at the user guide stuff and come up with something.
 

heeylaurax0

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 18, 2011
Messages
16
Okay, thank you! I'll definitely try everything out today.

Another problem I keep having with this computer, is I receive an error message saying:

"No ATI graphics driver is installed, or the ATI driver is not functioning properly. Please install the ATI driver appropriate for your ATI hardware."

How do I find and download the "appropriate" driver for my computer? Could you steer me in the right direction based on my computer specs?
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
83,300
Another problem I keep having with this computer, is I receive an error message saying:

"No ATI graphics driver is installed, or the ATI driver is not functioning properly. Please install the ATI driver appropriate for your ATI hardware."

How do I find and download the "appropriate" driver for my computer? Could you steer me in the right direction based on my computer specs?
Right-click MY COMPUTER, then click Properties - Hardware - Device Manager.

When the Device Manager window appears, click the + in Display Adapters

What's listed in that heading?

Are there ANY entries in the Device Manager that have a ? or ! next to them?

-------------------------------------------------------

Do NOT use cleaner/optimizer/booster/tuneup/tweak type utilities under ANY circumstances.

They can damage Windows and break programs.

------------------------------------------------------
 

heeylaurax0

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 18, 2011
Messages
16
Right-click MY COMPUTER, then click Properties - Hardware - Device Manager.

When the Device Manager window appears, click the + in Display Adapters

What's listed in that heading?

Are there ANY entries in the Device Manager that have a ? or ! next to them?

-------------------------------------------------------

Do NOT use cleaner/optimizer/booster/tuneup/tweak type utilities under ANY circumstances.

They can damage Windows and break programs.

------------------------------------------------------
There aren't any devices listed. Is that bad?

[/IMG]
 

heeylaurax0

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 18, 2011
Messages
16
Yeah, my tech guy had downloaded Service Pack 3 for me already. Should I download it again?
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
83,300
Yeah, my tech guy had downloaded Service Pack 3 for me already. Should I download it again?
Has it been downloaded and saved for a later install, or has it already been installed?

Right-click MY COMPUTER, then click Properties. What's listed in the "General" tab for the version of Windows?

If it's already been installed, there's no need to reinstall it.

--------------------------------------------------------
 

heeylaurax0

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 18, 2011
Messages
16
I believe it has already been installed. I went into safe mode and ran the "fixccs.exe", but the command prompt would only be up for a second, and then close. I'm not sure if this is what's supposed to happen, but I only saw "Checking registry" or the first line of the command.


@Flavallee - It says:
System:
Microsoft Windows XP
Professional
Version 2002
Service Pack 3
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
83,300
SP3 is already installed. (y)

------------------------------------------------------

I'm not sure what you did and why you did it in safe mode.

You download and save the Windows XP update, then close all open windows, then double-click the saved update to install it.

-------------------------------------------------------
 

heeylaurax0

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 18, 2011
Messages
16
The directions on the Microsoft website said to open the .exe file in safe mode.

What should I do next? I feel like this computer is just screwed, lol.
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
83,300
Sorry. I read the instructions in the other Microsoft link, and it's not usually required anyway to install updates in safe mode.

The Device Manager window is still blank?

--------------------------------------------------------

The forum rules limit us in how much we can assist with corporate/company computers.

Go here and scroll down to the last part of post #1.

--------------------------------------------------------
 

heeylaurax0

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 18, 2011
Messages
16
Yes, the device manager is still blank.

Well... it isn't really a corporate computer, lol. Our tech guy doesn't really know much, and he only comes when there's a problem. I would really appreciate any help you guys can give me. My employer has given me the heads up -- anything to fix this issue.

I really need this to be fixed. I'm working without a printer :(.
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
83,300
Right-click an empty space on the desktop, then click Properties.

When the Display Properties window appears, click Settings - Advanced - Adapter.

What's listed there?

--------------------------------------------------------

I'm strictly a HP Deskjet/HP Photosmart user, so I can't advise you anything about Brother printers.

Here is the support site for your printer that hopefully can be helpful to you.

--------------------------------------------------------
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top