Map incorporated into webpage

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

novith

Thread Starter
Joined
May 21, 2006
Messages
11
Hey guys,
Im trying to help one of my friends out with a building a website for his small business using dreamweaver. I was wondering how to incorporate a map into the site itself. So that the customer would know the location of the business. I want to either use Mapquest or Google maps. I seen it done on several sites, but I have no idea where to start. Any help given is greatly appreciated. Thank you.
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,456
you can link to various map sites - I have linked before to a UK site called streetmap.co.uk

usually how to do the linking is all explained on the sites
 

novith

Thread Starter
Joined
May 21, 2006
Messages
11
I thought about the links, I was actually try to do something like this.
http://high.org/visit/directions/directions.aspx

I guess I can also take a screen shot of the map and put the image on the page, but I thought there might be a better way to do.

If its too complicated, i guess I can just link it to the site.
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,456
not sure where you stand on copyright by copying the file onto your internet server - thats why I have always linked
 

novith

Thread Starter
Joined
May 21, 2006
Messages
11
ahhh completely forgot about the copy right issues. Thank you sir
 
Joined
Feb 16, 2006
Messages
360
The Google Map API is an excellent and zero cost tool (y)

First, go here:

http://www.google.com/apis/maps/

You may register a URL to have use of the API and, one you have the API key which is easy to get) you can then start to be creative and have Google map within the web page, complete with drag and zoom features.

Live example at http://www.northwickdental.co.uk/wmap.htm :cool:

View the source of this page and you'll see I have the key data at the top of the HTML code and the Javascript for the map at the very bottom.

Anon

Chris
 

novith

Thread Starter
Joined
May 21, 2006
Messages
11
Hey Chris, thanks a lot man, I already came across this as well. Im just trying to figure out if this is easier to use Map quest, as it already gave code and all. Im actually leaning towars Google. Thanks again for ur help man.
 
Joined
Feb 16, 2006
Messages
360
No probs ace.

I found the API a bit 'fiddly' but the results were spectacular and the customer LOVED it!

Anon

Chris
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top