1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Masking

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by jski469, May 3, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. jski469

    jski469 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    I have a child that instead of homework she goes on to myspace. I know there is a way to make it so that when she types myspace.com in the url, I can have it appear as a educational website. I have the ip addresses already to both sites. I know this will only be on my pc and that if she ever got smart and typed in the ip address it will still come up. Please help!
     
  2. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,796
    In Windows XP or Vista, the hosts file is found here:

    C:\Windows\System32\Drivers\etc\hosts

    Double click the 'Hosts' file and select "Notepad" from the list of programs to open it with.

    Once you have the hosts file open in Notepad, you will see an entry such as:

    127.0.0.1 localhost (or ::1 localhost)

    To block the web page from loading, add the following:

    127.0.0.1 www.myspace.com

    Your Hosts file will now look like this:

    127.0.0.1 localhost
    127.0.0.1 www.myspace.com

    127.0.0.1 (not for localhost) can be replaced by your educational website's IP address.

    Add as many web addresses as you like in the same fashion.

    Once you are finished, go up to 'File' and click 'Save'.

    If using Notepad to edit the file, make sure to change the Save as Type: box to All files. Otherwise, Notepad may add a .txt extension to the file which will keep it from working. If you don't have your system set to show extensions, it's easy to miss that.

    The web pages listed in your 'Hosts' file should be blocked from access. It may be necessary for you to reboot your computer for these changes to take effect.
     
  3. jski469

    jski469 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    I opened the file location and note pad is blank. This is not there - 127.0.0.1 localhost (or ::1 localhost)
    Is that a issue?
     
  4. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,796
    Your HOSTS file should look like this:

    [​IMG]
     
  5. jski469

    jski469 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    It looks like that in imhost. Is that ok!
     
  6. jski469

    jski469 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    The file is called Imhosts.sam
     
  7. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,796
    No, imhost is different.
     
  8. jski469

    jski469 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    The host file is completely blank. Should I retrieve it from somewhere?
     
  9. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,796
    Click Start – search for "Notepad", right-click and select "Run as Administrator". This should launch Notepad with elevated privileges. Now, open the host file from the File menu (in Notepad), edit and save.
     
  10. jski469

    jski469 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    I appreciate you helping me with this. I did that and it still comes up blank. If I type in the information even though it is blank will it still work?
     
  11. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,796
    You're running Windows Vista, right?
     
  12. jski469

    jski469 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    13
  13. bhennon

    bhennon

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Instead of messing with host files, just use a free service called opendns.
    opendns.com

    the site allows you to block specific sites or categories of sites like social networking. It is free and the directions on the site are very good.

    i have been using it for a while and it works good.

    Again, if they get wise and enter the ip address then opendns wont work either.
     
  14. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,796
    Nonetheless, the HOSTS file seems messed up.

    How to Reset HOSTS File to Default

     
  15. jski469

    jski469 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    I will do. Thank you again!
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/920846

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice