1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Max 10BT cable length?

Discussion in 'Networking' started by stingray1527, Feb 3, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. stingray1527

    stingray1527 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    4
    I have to make a cable run that is around 640' and setup two PC's in a workgroup. I know that 10BT max is 100m or 328'. Are my options here installing a hub or a small switch half way to break it up or act as a repeater? I need to keep these two PC's off my main network due to traffic issues.
     
  2. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    A simple hub or switch will do the job as a repeater for this task.
     
  3. gurutech

    gurutech

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    Messages:
    2,960
    Go with a router/switch. If you use a hub, it will broadcast network traffic to ALL ports on the hub, whereas a router/switch will only broadcast to the computer the traffic is destined for, thus solving your traffic issue.
     
  4. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    He's only using two ports on the hub, since it's in the middle of a 600' run of cable! :) There will be no difference in performance between a switch and a hub in this case...
     
  5. jibberjabber

    jibberjabber

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    198
    I agree with johnwill. In this case ALL ports on the hub is only two. So this is not a problem.
     
  6. stingray1527

    stingray1527 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    4
    Will do, gentleman! Thanks for the responses. It helps when you have several ideas. the more that look at the issue the better the ideas.
     
  7. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    I don't know why the router was suggested, that's clearly not the correct solution. :)
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/326269

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice