1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Max Payne on windows xp???

Discussion in 'Games' started by dmcg69, Apr 12, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. dmcg69

    dmcg69 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2003
    Messages:
    66
    heya peeps

    i've just bought a new computer athlon 64 bit etc with all the latest stuff in it. its running xp too

    i was playing the max payne 1 demo and decided i'd buy the game since its cheap

    but when it arrived i installed it it completed it but at the end there was a "the instruction at "0x771c732a referenced memory at 0x00169460. the memory could not be read please click ok to terminate the program" its a kernel.exe error

    i tried to play the game and it lets me into the menu but when i select a game to play it loads half way and then just goes back to the desktop without any trace of the game still running.

    does anyone know what could be wrong? thanx you
     
  2. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    Did you uninstall the demo before installing the CD? I would uninstall both.

    In fact I would uninstall the CD, do a System Restore to a date prior to the install, uninstall the demo if it is on there and then reinstall from the CD.

    If you continue to get an error on the install, you might have a bad CD.
     
  3. dmcg69

    dmcg69 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2003
    Messages:
    66
    i did all you said and i also got a new cd and thats not the problem, iv've got a AMD 3000 64 computer running xp maybe thats why its causing kernel problems???? thing is the demo ran fine :(

    anyone else got any ideas?
     
  4. Whiteskin

    Whiteskin

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2002
    Messages:
    1,964
    It shouldnt matter: Everything on that Xp system runs in 32 bit mode anyhow. I'd agree with Rog here. Uninstall everything related to max, and then reinstall.
     
  5. DebraP

    DebraP

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2004
    Messages:
    16
    Whats your video card, might that be the problem - check the website for compatability issues. Older cards do have a problem with the game as well as Voodoo3
     
  6. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    Have you checked the troubles.htm file in the MaxPayne Help\htm folder?

    There is a link to AMD (must be edited to work) for updated drivers and some other suggestions as well.

    http://www.amd.com/us-en/

    If your drivers are the latest, I would check with AMD's technical support to see if there are any known issues.

    This might be what you are looking for, but verify on your own:

    http://www.amd.com/us-en/Processors/TechnicalResources/0,,30_182_871_9706,00.html

    It looks like there is a January update for the 64
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/219592

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice