Max Payne on windows xp???

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

dmcg69

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 3, 2003
Messages
66
heya peeps

i've just bought a new computer athlon 64 bit etc with all the latest stuff in it. its running xp too

i was playing the max payne 1 demo and decided i'd buy the game since its cheap

but when it arrived i installed it it completed it but at the end there was a "the instruction at "0x771c732a referenced memory at 0x00169460. the memory could not be read please click ok to terminate the program" its a kernel.exe error

i tried to play the game and it lets me into the menu but when i select a game to play it loads half way and then just goes back to the desktop without any trace of the game still running.

does anyone know what could be wrong? thanx you
 
Joined
Dec 9, 2000
Messages
45,855
Did you uninstall the demo before installing the CD? I would uninstall both.

In fact I would uninstall the CD, do a System Restore to a date prior to the install, uninstall the demo if it is on there and then reinstall from the CD.

If you continue to get an error on the install, you might have a bad CD.
 

dmcg69

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 3, 2003
Messages
66
i did all you said and i also got a new cd and thats not the problem, iv've got a AMD 3000 64 computer running xp maybe thats why its causing kernel problems???? thing is the demo ran fine :(

anyone else got any ideas?
 
Joined
Nov 15, 2002
Messages
1,964
It shouldnt matter: Everything on that Xp system runs in 32 bit mode anyhow. I'd agree with Rog here. Uninstall everything related to max, and then reinstall.
 
Joined
Apr 22, 2004
Messages
16
Whats your video card, might that be the problem - check the website for compatability issues. Older cards do have a problem with the game as well as Voodoo3
 
Joined
Dec 9, 2000
Messages
45,855
Have you checked the troubles.htm file in the MaxPayne Help\htm folder?

There is a link to AMD (must be edited to work) for updated drivers and some other suggestions as well.

http://www.amd.com/us-en/

If your drivers are the latest, I would check with AMD's technical support to see if there are any known issues.

This might be what you are looking for, but verify on your own:

http://www.amd.com/us-en/Processors/TechnicalResources/0,,30_182_871_9706,00.html

It looks like there is a January update for the 64
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top