1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

mcafee active shield/antivirus

Discussion in 'All Other Software' started by freddy2, Jul 4, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. freddy2

    freddy2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    This is the message when booted into xp home I recieve.

    The instuctions @ Oc771bbc29 referenced memory @ Ox771bbc29.The recovered data was not placed into memory because of an I/O error status Oxcooooo9c.

    other messages only with different numbers are Ox771bbc560 and end with Oxc000009c.

    the computer starts and the arrow works but can'T use any programs or the internet, sometimes the dvd works but cant reload mcafee anivirus program computer is 90 % locked up? Cant get into control panel to delete the Mcafee program. The computer is a Dell laptop Inspiron, running xp home <mcafee antivirus unknown model.
    Other message: some components active shield are either missing or might not have been installed properly. How can I get Mcafee off of this computer?
     
  2. blues_harp28

    blues_harp28 Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    18,791
    Hi and welcome to TSG.
    Reboot tap F 8 choose Last Known Good Configuration.
    Or enter Safe mode and uninstall McAfee.
     
  3. Goku

    Goku

    Joined:
    May 17, 2007
    Messages:
    1,408
    Yeah. That is it. Move into Safe Mode and then go and uninstall the program. Experienced the same thing a while ago....

    By the way,Welcome to TSG. :)
     
  4. golferbob

    golferbob

    Joined:
    May 18, 2004
    Messages:
    3,895
  5. Goku

    Goku

    Joined:
    May 17, 2007
    Messages:
    1,408
    But he will need internet access to a computer so that he can download the tool. If he can do so, then it would be a better idea to use the tool rather than the Windows Add/ Remove Programs. Also, he can try it in the following manner:-

    1) Boot in Safe Mode.
    2) Uninstall McAfee through the traditional Add/ Remove list.
    3) Reboot in Normal Mode.
    4) Download the tool and remove any existing traces.
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - mcafee active shield
  1. DaveA
    Replies:
    6
    Views:
    417
  2. OssNass
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    497
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/591873

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice