1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Mcafee and firewalls

Discussion in 'General Security' started by Roger1959, Jul 8, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Roger1959

    Roger1959 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    Hi, Today I tried to load Mcafee antivirus software which I purchased with my new computer. However, when I tried to activate it I got a message from MacAfee saying it couldn't install due to my IP address being compromised and advised me to buy AOI firewall to run alongside the antivirus software for 99.95. Any advice?
     
  2. Cookiegal

    Cookiegal Administrator Malware Specialist Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    114,181
    How did you try to activate it from within the software itself or by an outside link?
     
  3. Roger1959

    Roger1959 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    I had a software package which consisted of a 'scratch card' plastic card with a 24 digit code on it. I went on to the Mcafee website and when I tried to go through the installation process it would install and pointed me to technical help which I accessed and was told my IP address was compromised
     
  4. Cookiegal

    Cookiegal Administrator Malware Specialist Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    114,181
    I don't think it's legitimate and your PC is likely already infected.

    What anti-virus were you running before?

    What is the operating system?
     
  5. Cookiegal

    Cookiegal Administrator Malware Specialist Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    114,181
    Please post a screenshot of what you're seeing. There's no such thing as AOI Firewall.
     
  6. Roger1959

    Roger1959 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    It's actually called ZoneAlarm security Pro firewall
     
  7. Roger1959

    Roger1959 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    I've got the feeling that I don't really need this extra level of security but why would Mcafee tell me I needed to install this firewall to clean up my IP address?
     
  8. Cookiegal

    Cookiegal Administrator Malware Specialist Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    114,181
    We can't help you if you don't reply to all of the questions and perform the requested tasks.
     
  9. lunarlander

    lunarlander

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Messages:
    11,654
    The Mcafee site you went to was probably based on a misspelling; which is really a for pay technical support site. And if you do some checking, you will find that the ZoneAlarm Pro costs only $30 currently.
     
  10. Roger1959

    Roger1959 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks for the info guys, I have not proceeded with the purchase and have downloaded a free product instead
     
  11. Cookiegal

    Cookiegal Administrator Malware Specialist Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    114,181
    Helpinghands68,

    Please be careful when posting advice here. You need to specify that disabling the firewall is only a measure to do to test something to see if that's what's blocking it but they need to remember to turn it back on. Also, in this case, doing so may have let something nefarious in given that it looks like the product they were trying to install wasn't the legitimate McAfee.
     
  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Mcafee firewalls
  1. Tomcobb
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    9,681
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1229710

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice