1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Mcafee Virus Scan Prob

Discussion in 'All Other Software' started by Txnkorny, Jan 15, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Txnkorny

    Txnkorny Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 16, 2000
    Messages:
    19
    Need help from a Mcafee expert please. I have the entire Mcafee suite installed on a WIN98 450MhZ PC for about 2 years now. I have always gone to their site and downloaded the newest DAT files once a month or so.

    http://download.mcafee.com/updates/superDat.asp?real=0

    The last 2 versions (4153&4180) gives me the following error: "did not find any qualifying products."

    Their site is absoloutely no help unless you have subscribed to one of their services. I know this is kind of a longshot, but does anyone have any ideas?
     
  2. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    36,380
    Hiya

    Not a Mcafee user, but did the files get downloaded to your PC, or did the error message cime up whilst you were online?

    I'm also wondering if you have to pay for your registration again, as some AV programs ask you to after a year or two.

    Also, and this has happened with me just recently, it may be due to the fact that it cannot download properly. I use AVP, and had a few errors popping up when trying to download the updates. Found out I had to change the ftp site.
    Also, other problems I had was that it wasn't getting updated. I had to install 3 or 4 times for it to acknowledge. Not a direct answer, but have you tried several times?

    Regards

    eddie
     
  3. TechChick

    TechChick

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2001
    Messages:
    282
    What version of McAfee do you have?
     
  4. John Sparkman

    John Sparkman

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2001
    Messages:
    616
    If you are using version 4.xx then I'm afraid your out of luck. As of December that version was no longer supported.
    You will have to upgrade to version 5.xx or 6.xx. I upgraded this past fall when I found out that version 4.03 would no longer be supported.
     
  5. Txnkorny

    Txnkorny Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 16, 2000
    Messages:
    19
    As usual, this site comes thru for me...

    I am indeed using version 4.X and was unaware that it was no longer supported. Guess I'll have to upgrade. Thanks for the info.
     
  6. John Sparkman

    John Sparkman

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2001
    Messages:
    616
    Mcafee 4.03 uninstall

    Click on the link above and print out the instructions for removal of virus scan 4.03 if you do upgrade to another version.
    It can be quite tricky so follow the directions closely.

    John
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Mcafee Virus Scan
  1. DaveA
    Replies:
    6
    Views:
    308
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/64953

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice