McAfee

Best Protection

  • mcafee,AVG,symantec,panda,sheild,bit,CA or

    Votes: 2 50.0%
  • Kaspersky, NOD, Trend Micro....other

    Votes: 2 50.0%

  • Total voters
    4
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

twizzie

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 28, 2006
Messages
482
Which software is better??

1. McAfee Total Proctection 2007
or
2. McAfee Enterprise 8.5i (for x86 and x64)
or
Is there another favorite of yours?

computer specs: 64 bit platform, P4 3.2 ghz HT, 1GB of RAM, 250 GB Seagate HD

On my newly homemade computer I got McAfee Enterprise 8.5i, and theres nothing to complain about, how they make the virus-scanning speed go so fast is beyond me. It scans avrg. 150 files/s, regardless of size. My dad just got Mcafee Total Protection 2007 on the old family computer, and I was just wondering if I should install MTP07. I prefer Enterprise, just cuz it sounds better lol, and if it says it can handle an Enterprise, why not a Enthuiast's Comp?? Anyway, forget about me, post your favorite protection, and why.
 
Joined
Apr 2, 2002
Messages
5,944
McAfee has a bad reputation as a resource hog which may, or may not, be deserved. It does, however, obtain the same, or better, ratings at av-comparatives .org, as AVG does.

If you have a fairly modern computer it should be able to run a version of McAfee, unless you have a lot of other resource hungry programs running as well.

I have no axe to grind in this as I am a NOD32 user!
 
Joined
May 18, 2004
Messages
3,895
i have mcafee only because i have a free year on the new computer. i will be glad to go back to avg 7.5 free. mcafee just takes over the system. i have 8 mcafee items on my startup menu.
 

twizzie

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 28, 2006
Messages
482
hm, i understand, you know u can get rid of them...WOW isn't there anyone who likes McAfee??? even tho it isnt on top
 

Frank4d

Retired Trusted Advisor
Joined
Sep 10, 2006
Messages
9,126
McAfee (and Norton) are both resource hogs. When I had McAfee it insisted on loading itself for each of five users logged on to my livingroom computer. Why it has to run 5X I have no idea, except it is crappy software. My current AV does not do that... it loads once for all users.
 
Joined
Dec 8, 2006
Messages
4,469
twizzie said:
hm, i understand, you know u can get rid of them...WOW isn't there anyone who likes McAfee??? even tho it isnt on top
I like it better than NOrtON because it is easier to use but I use neither. I get F-Secure free with my ISP.
 

twizzie

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 28, 2006
Messages
482
ahh i see, im getting a different perspctive of these things
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top