1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

McAlfee virus scan

Discussion in 'All Other Software' started by cmed, Nov 21, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. cmed

    cmed Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    336
    I have windows Me--Netscape 4.78---And I have McAlfee for detecting a virus--------Question---
    If I click on McAlfee--------------- And then click on scan now---------I get a blank white page with parameter incorrect spelled out in upper left hand corner--------If I click on review updates that works ok--------Have you heard of this-------Should I be concerned-------And---Is this the best virus control on the market---Please advise-------Thanks as always
     
  2. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    35,186
    Hiya

    Are you trying this online or offline? Is this the icon in the tray near the clock and have you tried using Start | Programs?

    If this is online, try clearing your Tempory internet Folder.

    eddie
     
  3. Max19

    Max19 Account Disabled

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2001
    Messages:
    1,222
    What version of McAfee are you running? You can find out by right clicking on the shield icon in the system tray and choosing Properties.
     
  4. cmed

    cmed Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    336
    McAlfee system is program files and documents only---------
     
  5. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    35,186
    Is that what comes up when you rightclick? Having the version number would be better. Is it in the tray as an icon?

    eddie
     
  6. yomaddog

    yomaddog

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2001
    Messages:
    248
    Know what "The Clinic" is?
    & McAfee is a great antivirus program,...but if it came with your computer, it typically is only offered for a trial period free, then you must renew it with purchase,.....the "Clinic" offers many services which also expires ( many things for all sorts of computer-maintenance )
    but I personally would get a $20 "Nortons-Antivirus" program...
    (...way less playing around than McAfee,...takes care of everything itself, even updates, has everything you truely need, & saved my butt
    now & then,... )
    With McAfee,...you spend too much time at the Clinic,...
     
  7. cmed

    cmed Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    336
    I'm not sure what the Clinic is-------Please explain------- Thanks
     
  8. yomaddog

    yomaddog

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2001
    Messages:
    248
    http://www.mcafee.com/myapps/clinic/default.asp

    p.s.---another downfall about McAfee is that it slows your computer down,...on & off line,...trust me,...big improvement with Norton,...no renewals either,...& "Live-Update" feature has brought my original 2000 version to 2001 automatically,... it catches viruses & isolates them in a quarinteened area, alerts you, & has many options for dealing with them, including removal...I have also been told that it will protect much better than McAfee... & only $20----but remove McAfee if you install, they upset each other...
     
  9. cmed

    cmed Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    336
    YOMADDOG-Thanks for your answer about virus scanners--------My 90 free days of McAlfee is about to run out---Can I buy Norton at any store such as Staples-or other discount stores? Do you happen to have a website for Norton?
     
  10. Rockn

    Rockn

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2001
    Messages:
    21,334
    You can't buy "McAlfee" anywhere, but you can buy McAfee from any retail store and you can even buy it online.
     
  11. cmed

    cmed Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    336
    rockn----I didn't understand your answer---Please repeat for me-Thanks
     
  12. yomaddog

    yomaddog

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2001
    Messages:
    248
    Yes, you can buy Norton just about anywhere,...got mine @ Best-Buy...
    All you need is the antivirus software,...there is other Norton software such as Utillities, Ghost, ect.,...but the antivirus is only about $20...

    heres the site: http://www.symantec.com/nav/
     
  13. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - McAlfee virus scan
  1. bergy37
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    211
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/59230

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice