1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

ME performance probs- Can't run Scandisk

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by califjr, Apr 26, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. califjr

    califjr Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Messages:
    13
    Am having general performance problems w/ wife's computer. The problems seem to be system-wide and include some of the usual frustratingly non-specific symptoms: snail-slow performance running most apps; little, elusive glitches that are maddeningly inconsistent and sometimes seem to have been eliminated by a restart or two, only to reappear an hour or two or a day later, etc. Unfortunately, many of these problems have only shown up while my wife was using the computer, so I can't be all that specific. Additionally, I'm a lifelong Mac fanatic, so I'm really not that familiar w/ even the simplest trouble-shooting basics for Windows stuff. So, I'm afraid I can't add much except to say that it seems to me to be exhibiting behavior that I would treat on my Mac by "zapping the p-ram" and "rebuilding the desktop".

    One other thing-- as I mentioned above, Scandisk doesn't seem to be able to complete its scan. My wife told me that she got an error msg (after Scandisk had been running for twenty minutes or so) saying that Scandisk was unable to continue due to Windows programs that were still running.

    Anyway, here's the log from the Hijackthis! scan-

    Logfile of HijackThis v1.97.7
    Scan saved at 3:12:06 PM, on 4/25/2004
    Platform: Windows ME (Win9x 4.90.3000)
    MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP1 (6.00.2800.1106)

    Running processes:
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\KERNEL32.DLL
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SPOOL32.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MPREXE.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SSDPSRV.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\COMMON FILES\EPSON\EBAPI\SAGENT2.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSTASK.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\RPCSS.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\EXPLORER.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\RESTORE\STMGR.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\TASKMON.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SYSTRAY.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\ATITASK.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\ATICWD32.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\SBC YAHOO!\CONNECTION MANAGER\CONNECTIONMANAGER.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\YAHOO!\BROWSER\YBRWICON.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\SBC YAHOO!\CONNECTION MANAGER\IP INSIGHT\IPMON32.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\WMIEXE.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\LOADQM.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\QTTASK.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\RunDLL.exe
    C:\ATI\ATIDESK\ATISCHED.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\MICROSOFT OFFICE\OFFICE\OSA.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\HIDSERV.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\YAHOO!\BROWSER\YCOMMON.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\MICROSOFT OFFICE\OFFICE\FINDFAST.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\HP DESKJET 690C SERIES\EREG\REMIND32.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\RNAAPP.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\TAPISRV.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\WUAUCLT.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\YAHOO!\BROWSER\YBROWSER.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSBB.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\DESKTOP\DOUG'S DL'S\HIJACKTHIS.EXE

    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Bar = http://server224.smartbotpro.net/7search/?si-001
    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Page = http://red.clientapps.yahoo.com/customize/ie/defaults/sp/sbcydial/*http://www.yahoo.com
    R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://default-homepage-network.com/start.cgi?si-001
    R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://default-homepage-network.com/start.cgi?si-001
    R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Bar = http://server224.smartbotpro.net/7search/?si-001
    R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Page = http://red.clientapps.yahoo.com/customize/ie/defaults/sp/sbcydial/*http://www.yahoo.com
    R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Page_URL = http://yahoo.sbc.com/dial
    R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Search_URL = http://red.clientapps.yahoo.com/customize/ie/defaults/su/sbcydial/*http://www.yahoo.com
    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Window Title = Microsoft Internet Explorer provided by SBC Yahoo! Dial
    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\SearchURL,(Default) = http://red.clientapps.yahoo.com/customize/ie/defaults/su/sbcydial/*http://www.yahoo.com
    F1 - win.ini: run=hpfsched
    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {02478D38-C3F9-4efb-9B51-7695ECA05670} - C:\PROGRAM FILES\YAHOO!\COMPANION\INSTALLS\CPN\YCOMP5_3_12_0.DLL
    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3} - C:\PROGRAM FILES\ADOBE\ACROBAT 6.0\READER\ACTIVEX\ACROIEHELPER.DLL
    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {FCADDC14-BD46-408A-9842-CDBE1C6D37EB} - C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSNKMI.DLL
    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {00A0A40C-F432-4C59-BA11-B25D142C7AB7} - C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSKCEO.DLL
    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {CC916B4B-BE44-4026-A19D-8C74BBD23361} - C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSEDAH.DLL
    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {0982868C-47F0-4EFB-A664-C7B0B1015808} - C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSKHHE.DLL
    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {25F7FA20-3FC3-11D7-B487-00D05990014C} - C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSKPKC.DLL
    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {00000762-3965-4A1A-98CE-3D4BF457D4C8} - C:\PROGRAM FILES\LYCOS\SIDESEARCH\SIDESEARCH1311.DLL
    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {0BA1C6EB-D062-4E37-9DB5-B07743276324} - C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSDAIM.DLL
    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {94927A13-4AAA-476A-989D-392456427688} - C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSJFBL.DLL
    O3 - Toolbar: &Yahoo! Companion - {EF99BD32-C1FB-11D2-892F-0090271D4F88} - C:\PROGRAM FILES\YAHOO!\COMPANION\INSTALLS\CPN\YCOMP5_3_12_0.DLL
    O3 - Toolbar: &Radio - {8E718888-423F-11D2-876E-00A0C9082467} - C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSDXM.OCX
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ScanRegistry] C:\WINDOWS\scanregw.exe /autorun
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [TaskMonitor] C:\WINDOWS\taskmon.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SystemTray] SysTray.Exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Atikey] Atitask.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [AtiCwd32] Aticwd32.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [PCHealth] C:\WINDOWS\PCHealth\Support\PCHSchd.exe -s
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [LoadPowerProfile] Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SBC Yahoo! Connection Manager] "C:\Program Files\SBC Yahoo!\Connection Manager\ConnectionManager.exe"
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [RealTray] C:\Program Files\Real\RealPlayer\RealPlay.exe SYSTEMBOOTHIDEPLAYER
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [C:\Program Files\SBC Yahoo!\Connection Manager\ConnectionManager.exe ] SBC Yahoo! Connection Manager
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [YBrowser] C:\Program Files\Yahoo!\browser\ybrwicon.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [IPInSightMonitor 01] "C:\PROGRAM FILES\SBC YAHOO!\CONNECTION MANAGER\IP INSIGHT\IPMon32.exe"
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Hidserv] Hidserv.exe run
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [LoadQM] loadqm.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [QuickTime Task] "C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\QTTASK.EXE" -atboottime
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [msbb] c:\windows\system\msbb.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [dmtwt] C:\WINDOWS\dmtwt.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [LoadPowerProfile] Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
    O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [*StateMgr] C:\WINDOWS\System\Restore\StateMgr.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [SSDPSRV] C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\ssdpsrv.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [HC Reminder] hc.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [SAgent2ExePath] C:\Program Files\Common Files\EPSON\EBAPI\SAgent2.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [SchedulingAgent] mstask.exe
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [Taskbar Display Controls] RunDLL deskcp16.dll,QUICKRES_RUNDLLENTRY
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [Quicknote] C:\PROGRAM FILES\QUICKNOTE\QUICKNOTE.exe
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [Yahoo! Pager] C:\Program Files\Yahoo!\Messenger\ypager.exe -quiet
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [msmc] C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\msgked.exe
    O4 - Startup: ATI Scheduler.lnk = C:\ati\atidesk\atisched.exe
    O4 - Startup: Office Startup.lnk = C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\Office\OSA.EXE
    O4 - Startup: Microsoft Find Fast.lnk = C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\Office\FINDFAST.EXE
    O4 - Startup: Reminder-hpc41001.lnk = C:\Program Files\HP DeskJet 690C Series\ereg\Remind32.exe
    O4 - Startup: EPSON Status Monitor 3 Environment Check 2.lnk = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\E_SRCV02.EXE
    O4 - Startup: PowerReg SchedulerV2.exe
    O8 - Extra context menu item: Yahoo! Search - file:///C:\Program Files\Yahoo!\Common/ycsrch.htm
    O8 - Extra context menu item: Yahoo! Dictionary - file:///C:\Program Files\Yahoo!\Common/ycdict.htm
    O9 - Extra button: Related (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Show &Related Links (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra button: Messenger (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Yahoo! Messenger (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra button: Yahoo! Login (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Yahoo! Login (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra button: Real.com (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra button: Sidesearch (HKLM)
    O16 - DPF: {A17E30C4-A9BA-11D4-8673-60DB54C10000} (YahooYMailTo Class) - http://download.yahoo.com/dl/installs/ymail/ymmapi.dll
    O16 - DPF: {9F1C11AA-197B-4942-BA54-47A8489BB47F} (Update Class) - http://v4.windowsupdate.microsoft.com/CAB/x86/ansi/iuctl.CAB?37913.7633217593
    O16 - DPF: {30528230-99F7-4BB4-88D8-FA1D4F56A2AB} (YInstStarter Class) - C:\Program Files\Yahoo!\common\yinsthelper.dll
    O16 - DPF: {231B1C6E-F934-42A2-92B6-C2FEFEC24276} (yucsetreg Class) - C:\Program Files\Yahoo!\common\yucconfig.dll
    O16 - DPF: {33564D57-0000-0010-8000-00AA00389B71} - http://download.microsoft.com/download/F/6/E/F6E491A6-77E1-4E20-9F5F-94901338C922/wmv9VCM.CAB
    O16 - DPF: {8E0D4DE5-3180-4024-A327-4DFAD1796A8D} (MessengerStatsClient Class) - http://messenger.zone.msn.com/binary/MessengerStatsClient.cab
    O17 - HKLM\System\CCS\Services\VxD\MSTCP: Domain = aoldsl.net

    Hope someone can help w/ this. It would mean a lot to the domestic tranquility of my household. I'm afraid my wife has reached the point where it's becoming very difficult to explain to her that I'm really not mocking her when I tell her that I simply don't know enough about Windows/PC stuff to help her sometimes. At this point I am fairly certain that, at this point, the words "That's never happened to me on my Mac" would probably my last.:-0.

    Thanks for your help.
     
  2. Styxx

    Styxx Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2001
    Messages:
    4,888
    the HJT log is not a universal help tool but thx anyway.

    To run ScanDisk or Defrag boot to Safe Mode first with your screen saver temporarily disabled:
    (tap F8 five times per second during a restart; Choose option number three (3) in the Windows Startup dialog box using the arrow keys below the Delete key, and strike the Enter key; Click Ok when prompted).
     
  3. Styxx

    Styxx Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2001
    Messages:
    4,888
    I see from reading your HJT log you're running no firewall and since 90% of computer problems come from having no firewall?, imho. unless you're behind a firewalled network Router that doesn't apply.

    Here, you may need to uninstall some unnecessary programs in Add/Remove Programs but the follwing should help:

    Close your internet browser, all other programs, doing the below, restart your computer and then generate your Hijack This log.

    Clear your browser's Cache and key folders before you generate a HJT log:

    Click the Start button; Point to Control Panel, select Internet Options; In the box that opens, click the Clear History; Delete Cookies And Delete Files buttons (tick the box next to, 'Delete all off-line content', each in turn; In the box that opens after activating each button, click the OK button. Click OK to close the Internet Options window.

    Clear the contents of the c:\Windows\Cookies; Temporary Internet Files and Temp folders.


    ***

    You've got way too much running at Windows startup.

    Check your available resources by right-clicking My Computer; clicking Properties; Click the Performance tab. Resources available are displayed as percent there at top. Check it when you get done running the System Configuration Utility mentioned below.

    Click the Start button; Run; type 'msconfig', without the quotation marks, in the Run box and click OK; Then click the Startup tab; Uncheck anything you don't need running in the background. For reference on what's not needed running in the background in the System Configuration Utility, view this website first and print out the list:

    http://www2.whidbey.net/djdenham/Running_items.htm

    It's important that you print out the above mentioned list. The site provides a printer friendly link.

    In the System Configuration Utility (SCU), you can uncheck programs you suspect one at a time and restart your computer. If something doesn't work right, you can always go back into the SCU and re-check it and restart your computer via the Start button. The changes are completely reversible by re-checking an item in SCU or by selecting Normal Startup under the General tab in the SCU and all the programs listed run when Windows starts as it was before you started.

    ***

    You need to be running a firewall like free Sygate from http://download.com - type, sygate, in the Search box, you must be on-line to register Sygate, that is if you're not using a firewalled Router on a Network or, have another third-party firewall like Sygate installed, to protect you and the Internet community from hackers, spammers and terrorist from using your computer for their own illicit needs while you're on-line?


    ***

    Get, install, update and run free Ad-aware (and its HexDump plug-in) from http://www.lavasoftusa.com/software/adaware/

    First in the main window look in the bottom right corner and click on Check for updates now and download the latest referencefiles.

    Make sure the following settings are made and on -------ON=GREEN

    From main window :Click Start then Activate in-depth scan (recommended)

    Click Use Custom Scanning Options' then click Customize' and have these options selected: Under Drives and Folders put a check by Scan Within Archives and below that under Memory and Registry put a check by all the options there.

    Now click on the Tweak button in that same window. Under Scanning engine select: Unload recognized processes during scanning and under Cleaning Engine select: Let windows remove files in use at next reboot

    Click proceed to save your settings.

    Now to scan just click the Next button.

    When the scan is finished mark everything for removal and get rid of it.(Right-click the window and choose select all from the drop down menu and click Next)

    Restart your computer.

    ***

    You might post exactly what programs you have in the Add/Remove Programs Control Panel list box.

    ***

    Go to http://housecall.trendmicro.com or http://www.pandasoftware.com/activescan/com/activescan_principal.htm and click the Scan Now link to run a free on-line virus scan.

    ***

    What anti-virus are you using? If you're running Mcaffee or Norton anti-virus and have not recently paid for a one year subscription to download weekly new virus definitions, you might consider getting free AntiVir 6 from http://free-av.com - Uninstalling Mcaffee; Restarting your computer and installing free AntiVir Anti-virus 6.0.
     
  4. Justinl

    Justinl

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2004
    Messages:
    81
    I've had some of the same problems with my wife's computer. First try to run msconfig from the start>run dialog box. Go to startup and deselect everything she doesn't use, that will help speed her performance up. Also run ad-aware, or Spybot Seek&Destroy to check for any programs running in the background. It sounds like something is running in the background which may be interupting your scan.
     
  5. PopArt

    PopArt

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2003
    Messages:
    24
    I run WMe on two computers. Hard to get scandisk to complete without shutting down everything that runs in the background. Go control, alt, delete and shut down everything but Explorer and Systray. Should work then.
     
  6. garyr

    garyr

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2004
    Messages:
    14
    scandisk/defrag should always be run in the safe mode. all running programs are disabled in the safe mode...gary
     
  7. califjr

    califjr Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Messages:
    13
    Styxx-

    Wanted to thank you and tell you that I'm working on applying the advice you gave me. The Ad-aware seemed to work great- improved speed and performance, etc. Unfortunately, it seems like, after just one online visit later and she's got a lot of the same stuff back (performance still hasn't fallen that much, but the %age free has fallen again). You recommended sygate as a free firewall prog, but I've read some reviews that indicate that after first seeming to be very effective, it soon appeared unable to stop any of the intrusions that it was detecting. Most of these negative reviewers recommended Zonealarm as an alternative. I was wondering what your opinion might be. Both of the products have about the same pos/neg ratings and both have gotten almost exclusively positive reviews from professionals, but ZoneAlarm has a brand new version AND its 4+ mb size makes it very attractive for someone w/ a sometimes rather recalcitrant dialup connection.

    Any advice you might be able to give would be much appreciated, and I'll be sure and post a msg to let you know how things are proceeding (particularly if I need more advice <lol>).
     
  8. Styxx

    Styxx Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2001
    Messages:
    4,888
    Sygate is a much better product because it only reports actual intrusion attempts. ZA on the other hand detects every stray packet on the Internet a hit to make itself look better. The size difference between the two is negligible at best.

    Sygate and ZA are about the same as to handling intrusion attempts so the reports you've see that claim Sygate doesn't stop certain events is incorrect.

    I install Sygate then open the Sygate main screen; click Tools; Options (check a box to view options) and under the Network Neighborhood tab I uncheck the box next to file and printer sharing and under the Update tab I uncheck the box to not allow automatic checking; click Apply; click Ok as appropriate.

    I'm using WinXP ICF but chose Sygate over ZA for the above reasons when using Win98/ME. I found Sygate never reporting false 'hits' like ZA.
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/223903

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice