Meaning of \\ in a software filename

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

n1ml

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 9, 2005
Messages
131
I am helping a friend with a new GPS he bought. The configuration file wants to see a program located at the following place:

sdmmc\66-con\\maps\route66.exe

I think the program is located in the maps folder. The problem, I think is with the \\ in the syntax. How do I make the location agree with the \\maps folder?

I hope it is OK to post this here.
 
Joined
May 11, 2007
Messages
56
It looks like it could be a typo in the configuration file. Is it possible to edit the file and remove one of the backslashes from \\maps?

John Hensley
www.resqware.com
 
Joined
Nov 6, 2007
Messages
26
two backslashes are usually used to indicate a server, e.g.

\\MyBigServer\MappedFolder\Directory1\Directory2\etc\etc
 
Joined
Nov 6, 2007
Messages
26
Forgot to mention that in this case, the device the GPS computer is trying to access is most likely a memory card, very likely a Secure Digital MultiMedia Card
therefore the syntax in the config file is very likely correct.

Post up a copy and I'll take a look.
 

n1ml

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 9, 2005
Messages
131
It appears that if I try to change the config file, it just over writes it. I think the only way is to trick the .exe file into trying to go to the \\maps folder. it looks like this

\sdmmc\con-66\\maps\usacanada.prm
 
Joined
Jan 14, 2003
Messages
312
This is really dependent on the OS for the device, for all you know it could denote that the file is \maps\usacanada.prm in an package called con-66 on the device sdmmc; best to consult the mfgr on this one.
 

n1ml

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 9, 2005
Messages
131
Thanks for the help. I will tell him to go back to where he bought it. Unfortunately that is in China. He has some contacts there so he needs to solve this that way. Thanks again.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top