Media Creation Tool 20H2 w10

nichosi

Thread Starter
Joined
May 6, 2014
Messages
66
Hi,
I used the Media Creation Tool 20H2 w10 on a 56gb USB but, I keep getting "There was a problem running this tool & Failed to create w10 media" with contact customer support, ERROR 0x80070005 - 0x90018.

Unfortunately that took me round & round & could not get them to help me.

Anybody suffered the same? …...thanx ………….nick


Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.9
OS Version: Microsoft Windows 10 Pro, 64 bit, Build 18363, Installed 20200222125501.000000+060
Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Quad CPU Q6600 @ 2.40GHz, Intel64 Family 6 Model 15 Stepping 11, CPU Count: 4
Total Physical RAM: 4 GB
Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce 9800 GT, 1024 MB
Hard Drives: C: 182 GB (80 GB Free); E: 199 GB (0 GB Free); F: 184 GB (141 GB Free); G: 69 GB (52 GB Free); H: 70 GB (67 GB Free); I: 223 GB (68 GB Free);
Motherboard: ASUSTeK Computer INC. P5K Premium, ver Rev 1.xx, s/n MS1C83B00G01149
System: American Megatrends Inc., ver A_M_I_ - 6000819, s/n System Serial Number
Antivirus: Windows Defender, Disabled
 
Joined
Sep 21, 2007
Messages
14,151
Use an older USB, 32GB or smaller, and see what happens. Move files to the 64GB USB and free up an old USB.
 
Joined
Mar 28, 2021
Messages
161
Nichosi,

If I read the specifications for that motherboard correctly, there are only USB 2.0 ports. My first thought is the USB flash drive you are using isn't completely compatible with the USB ports that are being used. I would suggest trying a different USB flash drive, probably something like an 8 GB would work fine. And you may want to take a look at the manufacturer specifications for the flash drive to be absolutely certain that it is USB 2.0 compatible. It is also possible you just have a defective flash drive. In any case, I believe the resolution is a different flash drive.
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
83,536
OS Version: Microsoft Windows 10 Pro, 64 bit, Build 18363, Installed 20200222125501.000000+060
Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Quad CPU Q6600 @ 2.40GHz, Intel64 Family 6 Model 15 Stepping 11, CPU Count: 4
Total Physical RAM: 4 GB
Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce 9800 GT, 1024 MB
Hard Drives: C: 182 GB (80 GB Free); E: 199 GB (0 GB Free); F: 184 GB (141 GB Free); G: 69 GB (52 GB Free); H: 70 GB (67 GB Free); I: 223 GB (68 GB Free);
Motherboard: ASUSTeK Computer INC. P5K Premium, ver Rev 1.xx, s/n MS1C83B00G01149
System: American Megatrends Inc., ver A_M_I_ - 6000819, s/n System Serial Number
Your computer has 2007-era hardware, so you're going to find it challenging to run Windows 10 Pro Version 20H2 Build 19042 64-bit in it.

--------------------------------------------------
 

nichosi

Thread Starter
Joined
May 6, 2014
Messages
66
Nichosi,

If I read the specifications for that motherboard correctly, there are only USB 2.0 ports. My first thought is the USB flash drive you are using isn't completely compatible with the USB ports that are being used. I would suggest trying a different USB flash drive, probably something like an 8 GB would work fine. And you may want to take a look at the manufacturer specifications for the flash drive to be absolutely certain that it is USB 2.0 compatible. It is also possible you just have a defective flash drive. In any case, I believe the resolution is a different flash drive.
Thanx all
The new USB is Sandisk 64 cruiser glide is new & formated & can drag files in it.

has 2 in the front & 2 in the back.

I only have a Cruzer Blade stamped 8gb but its properties show 7.4gb., will try it.

NO it is the same, no good.

Do I have to have the MediaCreationTool20H2 in the drive or it can find it anywhere else? I tried both.
 
Last edited:

nichosi

Thread Starter
Joined
May 6, 2014
Messages
66
Your computer has 2007-era hardware, so you're going to find it challenging to run Windows 10 Pro Version 20H2 Build 19042 64-bit in it.

--------------------------------------------------
Thanx,

I build it runs on W10 pro for a few years OK.

Only want the usb for restoring to old dates if it gets virus etc.
 
Joined
Sep 21, 2007
Messages
14,151
The Media Creation Tool can be on your hard drive. When you run it, it can either create a USB memory stick or a DVD.
 
Joined
Mar 28, 2021
Messages
161
Do I have to have the MediaCreationTool20H2 in the drive or it can find it anywhere else? I tried both.
You can't have the media creation tool on the same unit that you are trying to put the media on. The media creation tool creates a bootable installation on the flash drive. If I remember correctly it may even format the flash drive as part of the media creation. Put the media creation tool on the HDD and run it from there.

And on the subject of the hardware, you would do well to grab more memory. I wouldn't try to do much of anything on just 4 GB of RAM. You might be able to grab enough sticks to get to 8 GB. With 4 GB of RAM you are likely to see memory swapping or paging to the HDD, making things run even slower.
 

nichosi

Thread Starter
Joined
May 6, 2014
Messages
66
I even tried for an ISO in a dvdd with the same outcome.

Having exhausted all suggestions I suppose now there is no solution to the problem? Thanx all
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 21, 2007
Messages
14,151
The MS Media Creation Tool should be on your hard drive. You run it to Generate a USB memory stick or DVD.

If you have the MS Media Creation Tool on the USB, how would it be able to free up space on the USB ? The MS Media Creation Tool will WIPE the USB and Generate Windows Setup files onto the USB.
 

nichosi

Thread Starter
Joined
May 6, 2014
Messages
66
The MS Media Creation Tool should be on your hard drive. You run it to Generate a USB memory stick or DVD.

If you have the MS Media Creation Tool on the USB, how would it be able to free up space on the USB ? The MS Media Creation Tool will WIPE the USB and Generate Windows Setup files onto the USB.
Thanx, I got the point, is in the HD
 

nichosi

Thread Starter
Joined
May 6, 2014
Messages
66
Hi again,

I went into my previous HD 500gb Seagate & there was the MCT I used long ago { MediaCreationToolx64 W10 } & which now it worked fine installing the tool in my 8GB stick, tested it on my old HD & it worked fine.

The 8gb USB now shows Capacity 7.43gb, used 3.2gb, free 4.15gb

Now I hope I will not have a cause to use it in anger on my present HD

Thanks for trying to help. .....nick
 

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top