1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

"Media Disconnected" with wired router connection

Discussion in 'Networking' started by jrbmed08, Oct 8, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. jrbmed08

    jrbmed08 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    I'm hoping someone here can help me fix my Ethernet connection to my router so I can configure it for wi-fi. Let me start by giving you the full background story.

    I have a US Robotics 5462 router and a D-Link DCM-202 cable modem on Comcast. I've had this router for years and initially configured it for wireless access using a Windows XP system (this router requires you to configure it via Ethernet and 192.168.2.1). That computer stopped working last year, so I got a new computer running Windows 7.

    When I first got this new PC, I could not connect to my router via Ethernet (just like I can't now), but I was still able to connect to the wireless network I had previously set up, so I was satisfied. A year went by, and last week I was suddenly unable to access my wireless network, so I did a factory reset on the router, erasing my previously configured wireless network and requiring me to connect the router to my computer via Ethernet to reconfigure the router. I tried to do this, but despite all of the correct LEDs being lit on the router, I could not access 192.168.2.1. A little poking around on my control panel revealed that my LAN was being labeled as an "Unidentified Network" and there was "No Internet Access." I tried to make it a private network, but that didn't fix the issue.

    I searched around for a while and read some advice to try running ipconfig. When I did that, I saw "Media Disconnected" for my LAN adapter. Googling that brought me here. I've tried a few of the possible solutions already with no luck.

    It might be helpful to know that with the same computer and the same Ethernet cable directly connected to my modem instead of through the router, I *CAN* get online. That's how I'm connected right now. Also, I have no problem accessing any wi-fi networks.

    Please let me know which commands you'd like me to run and post so you can help me out. Thanks in advance!
     
  2. jrbmed08

    jrbmed08 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    I'll get started by following the advice from this post:
    http://forums.techguy.org/7817035-post2.html

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Windows\system32>ipconfig /all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Jen-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcast
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : hsd1.ca.comcast.net.

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection 2:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft Virtual WiFi Miniport Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : C4-17-FE-A3-DE-89
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : hsd1.ca.comcast.net.
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek PCIe FE Family Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : B8-AC-6F-50-83-38
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::4809:f3db:2a93:7f37%11(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 50.131.104.210(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.254.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, October 08, 2011 12:38:46 AM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Monday, October 10, 2011 8:04:15 PM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 50.131.104.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 297315439
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-13-12-FF-34-B8-AC-6F-50-83-38

    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 68.87.76.182
    68.87.78.134
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Dell Wireless 1397 WLAN Mini-Card
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : C4-17-FE-A3-DE-89
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter 6TO4 Adapter:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : hsd1.ca.comcast.net.
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft 6to4 Adapter #2
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2002:3283:68d2::3283:68d2(Preferred)
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 68.87.76.182
    68.87.78.134
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

    Tunnel adapter isatap.hsd1.ca.comcast.net.:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : hsd1.ca.comcast.net.
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #2
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 14:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    --------------------------

    C:\Windows\system32>ping 50.131.104.210

    Pinging 50.131.104.210 with 32 bytes of data:
    PING: transmit failed. General failure.
    PING: transmit failed. General failure.
    PING: transmit failed. General failure.
    PING: transmit failed. General failure.

    Ping statistics for 50.131.104.210:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),

    --------------------------

    C:\Windows\system32>ping 50.131.104.1

    Pinging 50.131.104.1 with 32 bytes of data:
    PING: transmit failed. General failure.
    PING: transmit failed. General failure.
    PING: transmit failed. General failure.
    PING: transmit failed. General failure.

    Ping statistics for 50.131.104.1:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),

    --------------------------

    C:\Windows\system32>ping 8.8.8.8

    Pinging 8.8.8.8 with 32 bytes of data:
    PING: transmit failed. General failure.
    PING: transmit failed. General failure.
    PING: transmit failed. General failure.
    PING: transmit failed. General failure.

    Ping statistics for 8.8.8.8:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),

    --------------------------

    C:\Windows\system32>ping yahoo.com
    Ping request could not find host yahoo.com. Please check the name and try again.
     
  3. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,966
    the ip addres you have posted looks like its connected to the modem

    User manual
    http://www.usr.com/support/product-template.asp?prod=5462


    connect to the router and make sure the router is not connected to the modem
    do another full reset on the router using the reset at the back of the route
    now do the following
     
  4. jrbmed08

    jrbmed08 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks for the reply. I just followed your instructions (connected to the router without the router connected to the modem and tried to access 192.168.2.1), and I was still unable to get there. I tried it once without rebooting my laptop, once after rebooting, and then once after reconnecting my router back to my modem. No dice. Also turned off my firewall in case that makes a difference.

    With my router NOT connected to my modem and after a full reset and a laptop reboot, this is what I get when I use the same commands as I posted earlier:

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Windows\system32>ipconfig /all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Jen-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcast
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection 2:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft Virtual WiFi Miniport Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : C4-17-FE-A3-DE-89
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek PCIe FE Family Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : B8-AC-6F-50-83-38
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::4809:f3db:2a93:7f37%11(Preferred)
    Autoconfiguration IPv4 Address. . : 169.254.127.55(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 297315439
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-13-12-FF-34-B8-AC-6F-50-83-38

    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : fec0:0:0:ffff::1%1
    fec0:0:0:ffff::2%1
    fec0:0:0:ffff::3%1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Dell Wireless 1397 WLAN Mini-Card
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : C4-17-FE-A3-DE-89
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{EFDB4BA1-87EF-4FB5-83A5-DB4210144E04}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 14:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    -----------------------------

    C:\Windows\system32>ping 169.254.127.55

    Pinging 169.254.127.55 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 169.254.127.55: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
    Reply from 169.254.127.55: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
    Reply from 169.254.127.55: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
    Reply from 169.254.127.55: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128

    Ping statistics for 169.254.127.55:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 0ms, Average = 0ms

    -----------------------------

    (Can't ping default gateway because it didn't give me one)

    -----------------------------

    C:\Windows\system32>ping 8.8.8.8

    Pinging 8.8.8.8 with 32 bytes of data:
    PING: transmit failed. General failure.
    PING: transmit failed. General failure.
    PING: transmit failed. General failure.
    PING: transmit failed. General failure.

    Ping statistics for 8.8.8.8:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),

    -----------------------------

    C:\Windows\system32>ping yahoo.com
    Ping request could not find host yahoo.com. Please check the name and try again.

    -----------------------------

    So it gave me a different ipv4 address, which it's now able to ping, but now it doesn't give me a default gateway. What does that mean?
     
  5. jrbmed08

    jrbmed08 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Hmm, something interesting just happened. I tried resetting a few more times, and one of those times, my old wi-fi SSID somehow came back from the dead and started broadcasting. I wasn't connected to the cable modem, so I had no internet access, but I was briefly able to reach the configuration utility at 192.168.2.1. However, as soon as I connected it back to the cable modem, I lost that access. Additionally, I'm not convinced my attempts at doing a factory reset are actually resetting anything. I'm using a paper clip to press the button on the back of my router for 5-10 sec, and something is definitely pressing, but the LEDs don't change at all unless I unplug it.

    So I'm thinking my router is bricked. Any other ideas?
     
  6. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,586
    I agree that it sounds like a failed router. But unless you are sure that 10 seconds is enough for your router hold that reset button for 15 to 20 seconds.
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1021263