Media Player 11

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. The original thread starter may use the Report button to request it be reopened but anyone else with a similar issue should start a New Thread. Watch our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

CrazyMobster

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 22, 2006
Messages
4
I tried to download WIndows Media Player 11 from the windows website. After I ran the instalation it told me I needed windows Media Center Edition 2005 or later to install the Media Player. I did get my computer in 2005, early 2005. Does this mean I cannot install Media Player 11 and is there a way around this problem? Thanks
 
Joined
Jul 1, 2004
Messages
1,203
are you sure you downloaded the one for xp and not the one for xp (64 bit).

check the requirements i think you need to updated to sp2 if you haven't done so yet....also get any high priority updates that are available
 

CrazyMobster

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 22, 2006
Messages
4
Yea, i got the high priority updates and I have service pack two. And in the download name it says x86 so I believe its the right one.
 
Joined
Jul 1, 2004
Messages
1,203
thats pretty strange, what version wmp do you have now?

you could try downloading it from here and see if the same thing happens when you try to install
 
Joined
Jan 9, 2007
Messages
50
The service pack 2 is what you need here , you can download it from microsft If I correct they still have it update.microsoft.com/microsoftupdate
 

CrazyMobster

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 22, 2006
Messages
4
This might be relevant but I just had a virus about 3 weeks ago and I had to reformat drive C:. The current version of windows media player I have is the one that I had when the computer was fresh, im going to try to update it to 10 and then try 11.

And I do already have Service Pack 2, I ran the windows update a few times to make sure i have everyhting and i do.
 

Triple6

Rob
Retired Moderator
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
52,933
WMP 11 is an optional Windows Update, trying doing the Custom scan and look under the Software, Optional section to make sure WMP 11 is selected to be downloaded.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. The original thread starter may use the Report button to request it be reopened but anyone else with a similar issue should start a New Thread. Watch our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top