1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Media Player won't play recorded TV

Discussion in 'Multimedia' started by remarkrp, Jan 16, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. remarkrp

    remarkrp Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    Messages:
    42
    Media Player will not play my recorded TV .wtv files. It tells me "Windows Media Player cannot play... because you do not have the appropriate rights. Media Center will play the file but Media Player will not. It's a file I just recorded using Media Center earlier today. I'd like to be able to use Media Player because it's DLNA compliant whereas Media Center apparently is not. Is there some way I can acquire the appropriate rights for Media Player to play the file?
     
  2. Oddba11

    Oddba11

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    7,859
    First Name:
    Jim
    No. It's a WMC format and only playable by WMC unless you want to spend the time and effort to convert each file to a format supported by WMP.
     
  3. dvk01

    dvk01 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    56,283
    First Name:
    Derek
    It does play in WMP on my W8 media center computer
    I am assuming that is only because I installed the playready digital rights management component in media center. That should give the required rights to all media players on the computer
    What OS are you using as there are different PlayReady downloads

    It might be that it only plays in W8 though and not in W7
    Or it might be that I have videolan installed and that installed so many extra codecs that one of them could be responsible
     
  4. Johnny2K

    Johnny2K

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2013
    Messages:
    159
    VLC's codecs are all self contained, not available system wide.
     
  5. remarkrp

    remarkrp Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    Messages:
    42
    OK, dvk01, I will have to investigate "PlayReady", I'm not really sure what it is or if I have it. I think I do. The problem seems to be related to my new PC/TV tuner. Older .wtv files I recorded with WMC on my other older computer using an analog NTSC tuner card will play on WMP. New .wtv files that I just recorded recently with my new DCR-2650 CableCard tuner (ATSC/QAM) will not play on WMP. Two different computers but both running windows 7 Home Premium. The older computer is 32 bit, the new one is 64 bit. Don't think that makes any difference but the difference between playing or not playing .wtv files seems to be related to which tuner I'm using. The right-click "properties" sheets for the new tuner files have a "License" tab that contains no information. There is no "License" tab on the property sheets for the NTSC tuner files. I'm thinking if I could somehow get rid of that "license" stuff, whatever it is, might solve my problem. Another option is right-click and "convert to .dvr-ms" but I get an error message and am unable to do that. Don't know if that would help anyway, I suspect not.
     
  6. Oddba11

    Oddba11

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    7,859
    First Name:
    Jim
  7. remarkrp

    remarkrp Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    Messages:
    42
    OK, I checked the info at the url that Oddball suggested and it does not appear to fit my situation. I've been looking into PlayReady and it IS on my computer but when I search for information on PlayReady, I get the impression it's purpose is to encrypt files to protect the rights of whomever created the file. I'm trying to obtain the rights to use the file.

    Here's my situation. .wtv files recorded by Media Center on my old computer with an analog NTSC tuner will play using Media Player. .wtv files recorded by Media Center on my new computer using a digital ATSC/QAM tuner will NOT play using Media Player, giving me the "...you do not have the appropriate rights" error. Both computers are W7 Home Premium.

    So, is there a way to obtain the "appropriate rights" for Media Player? I need Media Player because it's DLNA compliant and Media Center apparently is not.
     
  8. Oddba11

    Oddba11

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    7,859
    First Name:
    Jim
    The source can affect the output file. As can the OS and WMC version.

    QAM contains provisions for copy protection. And based on what I've read, WMC now contains copy protection (thus your WMP playback issues). This is Microsofts way of appeasing the broadcasters and enforcing copyrights.

    All of your hardware, software, and OS have changed (from your comments above). I suspect your old files were from a different source, or using an older format and thus don't have the copy protection. So the old files working and the new files not working isn't relevant.

    Which leads us back to my link above. Unless I'm missing something, it is relevant to your issue. The copy protection used by WMC has to be removed before the files can be played by WMP.
     
  9. remarkrp

    remarkrp Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    Messages:
    42
    My computer is W7 Home Premium and Media Player does indeed play .wtv files recorded by
    Media Center. I just now recorded Hawaii Five-0 with Media Center and played it back on
    Media Player. Worked fine. After more research it appears that Media Center makes some of
    its recordings copy-protected and some not copy-protected. Media Player cannot play the
    copy-protected files. Media Center can. Three possible solutions: 1, make Media Player
    able to play copy-protected files. 2, Make Media Center record all files non-copy-protected.
    3, Make Media Center DLNA compliant so it can send the recordings to my DLNA
    compliant TV. Anyone know how to make any of these happen?
     
  10. Oddba11

    Oddba11

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    7,859
    First Name:
    Jim
    1) per the link above, can't be accomplished. Unless I missed something, thus the reason to convert the files (conversion will remove the protection).

    2) the recordings are likely dictated by the source. If the source has the flag set, it's enforced by WMC. This can vary by provider, but the most common types are movie channels (ie: HBO, Showtime,etc.) and pay per view. I doubt it can be shut off as it's a copyright issue. If it's not enforced, the file could be moved to other devices and/or played by any player.

    3) it's not a DLNA issue. That is simply the way devices connect and communicate with each other. The problem will be that the TV media player (app) won't be able to play a (WMC) file with copy protection (the same issue you have with WMP). >> http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Digital_Living_Network_Alliance

    If MS removed or allowed to be disabled the copy protection, they would quickly be taken to court. This is the same issue all hardware (ie: DVR and even back to VHS) makers and content providers (ie: Dish comes to mind) have been dragged into court about. Sure you can fairly easily remove the protection by converting the files, but then YOU are liable and not MS.

    Good luck. Hopefully someone else can assist further.
     
  11. remarkrp

    remarkrp Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    Messages:
    42
    Thanks for all the info Oddball. I was hoping that whatever allows WMC to play back its files could be ported to WMP so that it too could play back the files. I'd seen some mention of Playready on this post and I have it on my computer but as far as I can see looking at all the info I can find, Playready is just for encrypting stuff, not for de-crypting. And I don't even know if it's in the mix in my scenario. Or if it should be. Or if it could be. I also tried MCEbuddy and it converted a file but it took a horrendously long time to convert just 1 half-hour recording. I'll keep looking for other file converters.
     
  12. Oddba11

    Oddba11

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    7,859
    First Name:
    Jim
    Conversion time is largely dependant upon cpu speed.

    Open the file with a tool like mediainfo to verify the file specs. We can then suggest a tool accordingly.
     
  13. remarkrp

    remarkrp Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    Messages:
    42
    Ok, I installed Mediainfo but I pretty much don't know what I'm looking at. Looks like a very neat utility but I've got some serious learning to do. Thanks for the tip.
     
  14. Oddba11

    Oddba11

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    7,859
    First Name:
    Jim
    It lists all of the file specs. Comes in handy when you find a file that won't play. The main thing to check in this instance, is the video codec. The tool used for conversion is based on file type (ie: video codec).

    It also shows the audio codec, as well as all audio/video related specs.
     
  15. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1141283

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice