Media State Disconnected IP problem

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

xheatherlynn

I'm trying to connect two computers to the internet. I'm using a Motorola SB4101 modem and a D-Link DI-514 router. When I input the ip address that the router manual tells me to do, it won't work. I called D-Link and they TRIED to guide me through the setup process, but they said that there's something wrong with my TCP/IP thingy. Sorry if I'm not explaining this correctly or using the correct words. I'm new at this router stuff. But I did plug the ethernet cables correctly. I'm just having problems seting up the router. Can someone help me with this media state disconnected IP problem?

First things first...

If you dont have a configuration on there already (VPN or something special) i would say just reset the router. Their should be a small button on the back (or somewhere, RTFM) of the router. I would guess it is a press and hold until lights blink and then it should be reset.

After that, make sure that you have YOUR computer on the same subnet as the router's default subnet***. I.E. if the directions say to point your browser at 192.168.0.1 then you need to change the IP of your computer to something like 192.168.0.10 with a subnet mask of 255.255.255.0. This will put your computer in the same subnet (or address block) as the router.

After you have reset the router, and put yourself in the subnet you should be able to access the router (via http).