Media Test Failure

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Pi314

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 18, 2011
Messages
7
Hello all. So I've been having trouble with my computer lately and was hoping someone could help.

Last week, I dropped my laptop and when I turned it on after that, it would either: (1) give me a white screen where I could only see my cursor (after booting to the desktop) or (2) give me my usually desktop screen, but with nothing clickable and which would freeze up whenever I tried to click on anything. I, then, tried to boot it in safety mode and this would work, but I couldn't seem to find any working solution that would help me boot up windows normally. I figured since safety mode still worked, the problem wasn't with the hardware, but with the software and since I couldn't find any working solution, I decided just to reset windows to factory settings using the recovery disks that came with the laptop. The computer responded to them and gave me all of the expected loading screens, etc and restarted when it was finished. After restarting, it went to a black screen and gave me the message: "Media Test Failure" and then did nothing. What can I do from here?
 

SUEOHIO

SUE
Joined
Jan 30, 2007
Messages
3,754
Since you dropped the laptop im going to guess that the harddrive got damaged in some way along with possibly other things.Media test failure usually points to either a failing hard drive, or it got knocked loose from the fall.
 

Pi314

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 18, 2011
Messages
7
IDK, if I go into BIOS, the computer still recognizes the hard drive.
 

SUEOHIO

SUE
Joined
Jan 30, 2007
Messages
3,754
If its recognized that doesnt mean it isnt damaged in some way. The test failure message is telling you theres a problem somewhere.
 

Pi314

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 18, 2011
Messages
7
Ah ok, what are my option then? Should I get a new hard drive or is there some way to fix it (that doesn't require an advanced degree in computer engineering)?
 

SUEOHIO

SUE
Joined
Jan 30, 2007
Messages
3,754
I personally would take it somewhere and have it looked at because it was dropped. Then you can see if anything got damaged and go from there as to what you might need to replace if anything.
 

Pi314

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 18, 2011
Messages
7
Ok, thanks SUEOHIO. BTW, would you happen to know if repair places typically charge you for diagnostic work like that?
 

SUEOHIO

SUE
Joined
Jan 30, 2007
Messages
3,754
You are welcome. I would think they would. But if you can tell them what happened and what message you are getting then it makes it easier for them and it might not cost so much to diagnose it if they at least know where to start looking.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top