1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Memory advice please

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Vanth, Jan 30, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Vanth

    Vanth Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Messages:
    19
    I would like to add another 512 memory stick to my computer and I understand I should by the same type but I would like to buy a better quality stick. If I buy something a little better then my current type how would I know if my computer can fully use the memory stick? Is it even worth buy a more expenisve stick at all? Or does it actually improve my computer in any way? Though I doubt my computer wouldn't be able to handle a high end stick since my mother board sort of sucks. Right now I'm running a single 512 PC 2700 DDR 333MHZ. Thanks.
     
  2. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,888
    First Name:
    Rob
    As long as you buy a stick of PC2700 or PC3200 RAM you should be fine, most of the time. Best thing indeed would be to buy a similar stick to avoid issues or compatibility.

    You can go to www.crucial.com and check out what they recommend for your system or motherboard.
     
  3. kiwiguy

    kiwiguy

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2003
    Messages:
    17,584
    A "better" stick can only run at the same speed as the existing memory, irrespective of any abilities of a system to use faster memory.

    As above best reliability is to use the same.
     
  4. Vanth

    Vanth Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Messages:
    19
    Thanks for the quick response. I guess I'll just buy the same stick but...if I do go with the 3200 which runs at 400mhz; can only run on 333mhz on my computer correct? If so it would make no sense to get a 3200 besides furture upgrades.
     
  5. kiwiguy

    kiwiguy

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2003
    Messages:
    17,584
    There can sometimes be compatability issues running non-similar memory. Your choice.
     
  6. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,888
    First Name:
    Rob

    Thats right.
     
  7. Vanth

    Vanth Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Messages:
    19
    I've settled with buy the same brand but I can only find double sticks of 512mb rather then a single Gig that is 2700 and 333mhz. Should I just go with a 1024, pc 3200, 400MHZ instead or just buy a totally dif brand that offers that pc 2700 option for a 1024 stick? Thanks.
     
  8. Skivvywaver

    Skivvywaver

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2001
    Messages:
    13,947
    Buy the 3200 if you can swing it. Faster is always better as long as you buy quality ram. Check what your motherboard supports. I usually don't buy there but Best Buy had a killer deal on Kingston 3200 last week.:)
     
  9. brite750

    brite750

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2002
    Messages:
    13,404
    heres your choices depending on your mobo if your mobo supports dual channel they usually look like 2 dimm slot right next to eachother an 1 off a ways away, then you can either buy 1 dimm of 512 pc2700 to match your existing on and install to run dual channel, or buy 1 512 pc3200 and hope that board will just slow down and run with the 2700 you have so you would end up with 1 gig running at 333 fsb or do what i did and forget the 2700 ram i had and buy 2 512 pc3200 sticks, my cpu is still 333 so I dont imagine it makes much difference, i put my 2 256 pc2700 in my daughters pc, if dont want to spend that much just buy a matching stick of what you have, but if you plan to overclock your cpu then you will need all pc3200 ram. I dont know what board or cpu you have so overclocking may or may not be a good option for you with your current setup anyway.
     
  10. 02098

    02098

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2004
    Messages:
    112
    just a quick question...
    with this mobo MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum nForce3 Ultra
    • Supports dual channel DDR 266/333/400, using four 184-pin DDR DIMMs.
    • Supports a maximum memory size up to 4GB with ECC.
    • Supports 2.5v DDR SDRAM DIMM.
    so what configuration would be the best for 2 gb(512x4 or 1gbx2)
    how much faster is the dual channel memory comparitive to normal
    i need for it to be able to run ps7 and 3d modelling software
     
  11. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,888
    First Name:
    Rob
  12. Skivvywaver

    Skivvywaver

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2001
    Messages:
    13,947
    I run an asus a7n8x-e deluxe. I benched both in dual channel and single channel modes using the exact same 2x512 of Kingston 3200. It is worth going dual channel but not if it is going to cost you big bucks to do it.

    I got a little less than 600 points more in 3Dmark 01 and about 300 points in 3Dmark 03 running dual channel with a radeon 9800 pro.
     
  13. 02098

    02098

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2004
    Messages:
    112
    which makes more of an improvement a better mobo or ram
    is there any site for mobo comparisions(other than toms hardware)
    what do you get for paying that little bit extra
     
  14. brite750

    brite750

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2002
    Messages:
    13,404
    I have to agree, get 2 1gig dimms and leave your self room for more, 3D modeling is usually very ram hungry, I run Acad 3D solid modeling with models that have thousands of parts, right now I have 2gigs and could easily use 4gigs, plan for the future.
     
  15. brite750

    brite750

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2002
    Messages:
    13,404
    http://www.motherboards.org/

    try this one
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/325025

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice