Memory Issues

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Undertaker72

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 22, 2003
Messages
98
Ok. Here is the problem. I got this memory at circuit city. Here is link:

http://www.circuitcity.com/ccd/productDetail.do?oid=127172&cm_keycode=85

And here is the info Gateway gave me for memory locator they have.

Specifications
Form Factor DIMM 240-pin
Memory Speed 533 Mhz (PC2-4200)
Storage Capacity 512 MB
Technology DDR II SDRAM

When I installed it it had two 256 mb memory sticks inside. My problem is when I installed it the computer beeped 3 times and never booted up. Can I please have some help.
 
Joined
Jul 7, 2006
Messages
1,085
Which Gateway do you have? The general specs seem to match (PC2-4200), but it's either incompatible or:

I see you mixed it with other RAM? Try it by itself and see if you get the same beeps.

Also, check to see that it's fully seated.
 

Undertaker72

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 22, 2003
Messages
98
Yes It is fully seated. It snapped in. I took out the other two 256 mb stick and just put the 512 in and it beeped the same.
 

Undertaker72

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 22, 2003
Messages
98
Ok some more info.

Motherboard Part Number: WMEOEMD945GBIG1

Type of Memory Modules (shipped):
256 MB PC4200 533 MHz DDR2 Dual-Channel Memory Module


Memory Installation Guide



Number of Memory Slots on Board: 4 (2 banks of 2)


Maximum Amount / Type of RAM that can be Installed:
4096MB DDR2 PC2-4200
 
Joined
Jul 7, 2006
Messages
1,085
No--what is the Gateway model number? That motherboard is Gateway's number. Could be any number of different manufacturers.
 

Undertaker72

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 22, 2003
Messages
98
Strange thing on those memory slots is there is two with white handles and two white brown handles. Maybe I am putting the memory on the wrong ones?
 
Joined
Jan 24, 2007
Messages
30
I would check to see if your motherboard is configured only to accept matched pairs of memory. I know that Dell computers are mainly configured to not work unless the memory is installed in matching pairs in the channels. As for what the white and brown tabs are those are your two different memory channels. The white is usually the first channel and brown should be the second.
 
Joined
Jan 24, 2007
Messages
30
Check with the computer manufacturer it may be set to only work with matched pairs of memory I know it sounds dumb as hell but its a possibility and if not then I would exchange the memory for a new stick.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top