1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Memory question

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by bmapc, Feb 2, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. bmapc

bmapc Thread Starter

I just bought a new computer, but it only has 256MB of memory. I'd like to upgrade to 512, but I've never done that before. Is there anything specific I should look for? For example, do I need to buy the same speed memory as my other memory? Same manufacturer? Is there a noticable difference in manufacturers?

2. JSanguancheu

JSanguancheu

Your owner's manual should have tell you the type and speed of memory needed for the system.

What's the make and model?

Or you could go to someplace like www.crucial.com and use their memory search engine to find what your system needs.

3. Doug Vitale

Doug Vitale

You can look at the Kingston website to determine which type of RAM to install. Unfortunately, this board won't allow me to post a direct link... :rolleyes:

Your PC uses a specific type of RAM such as RDRAM, SDRAM, etc. You have to know which when you install more RAM sticks. Have someone who has installed RAM before to show you how. Also, watch out for electrostatic discharge (ESD) when you work on hardware upgrades.

4. bmapc

bmapc Thread Starter

The memory that came in the computer is 256 MB DDR333 PC2700 Non-ECC Memory. Do I need to get something that is identical to those specs?

5. JSanguancheu

JSanguancheu

Yes. That would be the best bet. Although anything with a faster rating should work just fine and match the old ram's speed.

6. obvious

obvious