Memory question

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

bmapc

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 26, 2004
Messages
36
I just bought a new computer, but it only has 256MB of memory. I'd like to upgrade to 512, but I've never done that before. Is there anything specific I should look for? For example, do I need to buy the same speed memory as my other memory? Same manufacturer? Is there a noticable difference in manufacturers?
 
Joined
Aug 11, 2002
Messages
1,824
Your owner's manual should have tell you the type and speed of memory needed for the system.

What's the make and model?

Or you could go to someplace like www.crucial.com and use their memory search engine to find what your system needs.
 
Joined
Jan 27, 2005
Messages
148
bmapc said:
I just bought a new computer, but it only has 256MB of memory. I'd like to upgrade to 512, but I've never done that before. Is there anything specific I should look for?
You can look at the Kingston website to determine which type of RAM to install. Unfortunately, this board won't allow me to post a direct link... :rolleyes:

For example, do I need to buy the same speed memory as my other memory? Same manufacturer? Is there a noticable difference in manufacturers?
Your PC uses a specific type of RAM such as RDRAM, SDRAM, etc. You have to know which when you install more RAM sticks. Have someone who has installed RAM before to show you how. Also, watch out for electrostatic discharge (ESD) when you work on hardware upgrades.
 

bmapc

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 26, 2004
Messages
36
The memory that came in the computer is 256 MB DDR333 PC2700 Non-ECC Memory. Do I need to get something that is identical to those specs?
 
Joined
Aug 11, 2002
Messages
1,824
Yes. That would be the best bet. Although anything with a faster rating should work just fine and match the old ram's speed.
 
Joined
Nov 2, 2004
Messages
355
yeah, get some faster RAM if your motherboard can handle it, as it will give you a little more flexibility in the future (as long as DDR is still in use in a few years) better still, just buy 2 512mb sticks of good RAM, sell your 256MB stick, fit on of the 512 sticks, and keep the other as spare. or just fit both.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top