1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Memory speed faster than processor speed

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by treads100, Apr 17, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. treads100

    treads100 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2003
    Messages:
    33
    I have a motherboard that has a FSB of up to 400MHz.
    My processor is an AthlonXP 2200 which can only run at 266MHz
    My memory is 256MB DDR DRAM PC2700
    SisSoftware Sandra testing tells me my memory speed and processsor speed do not match. Question is: Does this really matter? I know a processor upgrade would sort it but a)the computer seems to run fine and b) I daren't try to sneak ANOTHER pc purchase past the wife! (just yet);-)
     
  2. zeddy

    zeddy

    Joined:
    May 3, 2003
    Messages:
    2,612
    The memory speed can run in asyncronous mode in most modern motherboards so the memory in your system is probably running at 333mhz and your processor at 266mhz.
     
  3. treads100

    treads100 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2003
    Messages:
    33
    Thanks! One less thing to worry about!
     
  4. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    37,983
    Most boards do not allow asynchronous operation of the memory. Some of the high end boards do allow this. Your memory most likely is running at fsb speed. It will do no damage and run just fine like that. You are basically under clocking your ram. While some of the high end boards do allow you to run the ram at a speed higher than the fsb, it can lead to stability problems. For that reason I never use asynchronous settings for ram.
     
  5. zeddy

    zeddy

    Joined:
    May 3, 2003
    Messages:
    2,612
    Mine does.
     
  6. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    37,983
    Many quality mb do allow this; oem or cheaper boards do not. In any case [imo] running asynchronous settings for memory and fsb lead can lead to instability.
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Memory speed faster
  1. jrbuergel
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    113
  2. kallum942
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    68
  3. Shahmir
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    75
  4. Piso
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    94
  5. Ttfran1t
    Replies:
    14
    Views:
    146
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/221170

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice