Memory Upgrade Problem -it should fit, it doesent though

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Zippyo3

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 18, 2010
Messages
67
Hey, I recently decided to upgrade my computer RAM. Checked out the Motherboards an ASROCK P4i45GV.

Under the motherboard information in the user manual it states that the motherboard can handle...

P4i45GV:
2 DDR DIMM slots, DDR DIMM1 and DDR DIMM2
supports PC2100 (DDR266) / PC2700 (DDR333), Max. 2GB


I Went out today and purchased, what was labelled to be a 1GB PC2700 / DDR 333 184 Pin Memory chip.

Got home and Attempted to install however the groove is several mm out of line and the card wont fit. Am i wrong but is this technically not supposed to fit?
 

Zippyo3

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 18, 2010
Messages
67
Yea tried it both ways, one way its a few mm out and the other its a few more, about an inch out. Im worried that they might have gave the the wrong product. Is there a way to identify a RAM chip? I know the basics of looking at the labels but 1. it doesent mention the size 2. it has no real recognisable writing just strings of numbers and 3. the only think in plain english that it says is the Kingston label.
 

Triple6

Rob
Retired Moderator
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
52,933
Take a picture of the label and post it if you can of both the old and new RAM, chances are you did receive the wrong type of memory, likely DDR2 by accident.
 

Zippyo3

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 18, 2010
Messages
67
Yea i did a google check on one of the numbers on the chip and it comes up as being a.....



Kingston KVR667D2N5/1G Valueram Computer Memory 1GB PC5300 DDR2 667MHz 240 Pin Dimm
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
83,442
Zippyo3:

Just so you can see the difference between modules.

184-pin DDR PC-2700 module:

http://ep.yimg.com/ca/I/memx_2101_977768143

240-pin DDR2 PC2-5300 module:

http://ep.yimg.com/ca/I/memx_2101_495684674

----------------------------------------------------------------

According to what I found, both revision 3.0 and revision 5.0 of that motherboard uses this DDR PC-2700 module.

---------------------------------------------------------------
 

Triple6

Rob
Retired Moderator
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
52,933
Yup thats DDR2 and you need DDR, wrong type of memory.
 

Zippyo3

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 18, 2010
Messages
67
Yea i took it back today and got a full refund. Thanks for all the help guys. :)(y):D
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
83,442
I'm glad to hear you got your money back.

Hopefully, you didn't get too forceful and didn't damage a slot.

Let us know if you got the correct modules installed okay.

----------------------------------------------------------------
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top