1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Memory Upgrade Queston.

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Mayor Quimby, Aug 28, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Mayor Quimby

    Mayor Quimby Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    Messages:
    369
    I currently have 512 mb ram in my pc which is pc 32000 ddr sdram. But i wanna upgrade this this to 1 gb.

    So is it better to buy a a 1 gb ram stick or should i buy another 512 mb ram stick? If one is better then other, is there a big difference? My main purpose to upgrade the game is to get better performance for gaming.

    Also, what type of ram will fit into my pc? is there a specail type? i got a couple of ram stick sitting at my house that wont fit into the slot


    Here is my pc spec.

    -AMd 3200 + 46 bit processor
    -512 DDR PC3200 Sdram
    -MSI k8tneo mobo (3 ddr slots)
    -Ati radeon 9800 pro 128 mb video card
    -onboard audio VIA AC'97
     
  2. Omega_Shadow

    Omega_Shadow

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    4,319
    Yes, you do need a specific type, Called DDR PC3200 SDRAM.

    I would just get a 512MB. I dont think you would notice any differance between two sticks of 512mb and one stick of 1gig.

    Nice specs, btw
     
  3. Flags

    Flags

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2001
    Messages:
    1,930
    I didn't know that AMD made a 46 bit processor.
     
  4. Omega_Shadow

    Omega_Shadow

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    4,319
    I think he just got to typing too fast and mixed the 6 and 4
     
  5. Mayor Quimby

    Mayor Quimby Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    Messages:
    369
    thanks for the help omega_shadow. i will just buy another 512 mb memory.

    And yeah, i did make a type error there putting the 6 and 4 in different order.
     
  6. Omega_Shadow

    Omega_Shadow

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    4,319
    dont forget to mark this thread solved up in the thead tools section at the top of the page

    I am glad I helped. Hope the upgrade goes smoothly for you, and if it doesnt we will be here :cool:(y)
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/394223

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice