1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

memory

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by winter592, Feb 17, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. winter592

    winter592 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2003
    Messages:
    77
    WE are trying to upgrade the memory in a Dell Dimension L933r. We bought a PNY Memory card. 256MB, SDR, DIMM, H, 32WHS (stk 4739083) That is supose to work. However, upon putting it in the computer and rebooting the monitor screen displayed lines on the right side only and took a long time to boot up. So we took out the original one and only had the new one in it. IT failed to boot up at all. SO we have the original back in it and the new one sitting useless on the desk. :(
    I ran a configuation from the PNY web sight. It said this computer had 64 MB - removable
    2 sockets for upgrade
    512 Max amount of memery
    Memoery must be installed in sets of 1
    BUS type PCI
    CPU 933MHz Intel Pentium III
    Standard Videos 8 to 32 MB
    Hard disk = 20GB 7,200-rpm
    133MHz FSB Intel 810E Chipset
    Windows ME
    Hard disk type Ultra ATA-66
    Will this memory card work??? If so how. Why is it messing up. Does the computer need to be configered for the new card??
    Winter592
     
  2. Byteman

    Byteman Gone but Never Forgotten

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    17,742
    Hi, What type of memory did you use, pc100 or pc133?
    If your system has 133mhz bus, you cannot use slower RAM.
    (It does work the other way around- faster chips would just run slower, on most systems, that is....there are exceptions.
    Make sure the RAM you need is what you have, and it looks like it would use pc100, but for the price the 133mhz chips are the better buy. The Crucial RAM site says both are able to be used.....what you may have done is had a pc100 and put in a pc133, (or vice versa) which might not work on some boards.
     
  3. winter592

    winter592 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2003
    Messages:
    77
    thank you. Am going to do some more looking into whats"in the box" thanks again
    winter592
     
  4. winter592

    winter592 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2003
    Messages:
    77
    tHE memory board in the box had this info
    PC 133u-333-542 0102
    128mp sync 133MHz
    CL3
    HYm76V16635HGT8 HE AA
    Thats the one that works
    The new one by itself, computer would not boot up at all
    it is a PC133
    Winter592
     
  5. Byteman

    Byteman Gone but Never Forgotten

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    17,742
    Hi, I think the new chip should work, it may be bad.
    You install chips into the lowest numbered slots first.
    DIMM 0
    DIMM 1
    When you were trying the new chip alone, and took out the old, did you move the new TO the lowest numbered slot?

    Crucial site lists several chips that work, CL2 or CL3....
    133MHZ or 100mhz
    non-parity- that is important, check what you bought.
    Only thing else is chip density, there are issues with
    this, it gets pretty complicated. Some motherboards do not like to mix brands, most will with no problem.
    Try the new chip in lowest slot, with old in next slot.
    Try the opposite.
    If system will only start with the old, send the new back.
    Try a different brand of pc133 non-parity.
    You may need to get into BIOS to just save and exit...
    Press the key it tells you at boot to enter setup....then, just do what it says to SAVE and EXIT the BIOS.
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/119439

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice