Memtest86

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Toosneaky

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 16, 2008
Messages
13
hey guys!
hey i have a question, i have been having issues with my pc bad slow downs, i mean my pc is so slow that i actually have wait about 2 minutes from going to one place another, and there are times that i have to go back of the pc and shut it down manually, because it take to dam long to shut down. so a friend of mine recommended to do a memtest86 and i ran it but there is one thing how do u tell what wrong what do i have to look for in the test to let me know that the memory is bad.
just incase these are specs to my pc, if by any chance is not enough information please let me know.
thank you i really appreciate any help you guys can give me.

My spec are:
A8N32SLI Motherboard
Kinston Hyper X Memory 2GB but 4 sticks of 512
2 SLI 7900 GT/GTO Video Cards
CPU DualCore AMD Athlon 64 X2, 2200 MHz (11 x 200) 4400+
 
Joined
Jun 19, 2004
Messages
7,800
Memtest will give you errors if the memory is bad.

Slow speeds are more likely a systemm problem than a memory problem though.

Are you up to date on AV and scans?
 
Joined
Aug 1, 2003
Messages
51,988
Boot up with the memtest media and run it. If you see any "errors" the RAM is bad. There can be no errors whatsoever with RAM.
 

Toosneaky

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 16, 2008
Messages
13
what kind of errors would it be, would it tell me in the color red, because i see at the middle of the screen to the bottom that every thing goes red and it would say something like this in that stats: test #4, test 42%, pass 14%, 6 errors am not sure what to look for within the test this why i im writiing u this. and what or where in the system will it be the problem, do uhave a clue where would it be? is it a heat thing or a processor or etc... can you please tell what do u think.
thanx
 

Triple6

Rob
Retired Moderator
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
52,933
If its saying there are errors then you've found at least part of the problem. Do you have more then one stick of RAM? Have you tried cleaning the computer and the memory slots if they are dirty and reseating the memory by pulling it out and then putting it back in?
 
Joined
Feb 17, 2006
Messages
1,850
Memtest will note any errors found in red, it's pretty hard to miss.

There are lots of other reasons your computer may be slow; memory is not likely one of them. Bad memory is more likely to cause crashes and corrupted data.
 

Toosneaky

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 16, 2008
Messages
13
is there any chance u can give me some kind of idea what would make my pc slow, i cant take this anymore. i feel like shooting this pc. i feel like i got pigeons in my pc, lol. that how slow it gets.
anyone out here cangive me somekind of idea why my pc is that slow.
 
Joined
Feb 17, 2006
Messages
1,850
A few very common possibilities, much more likely than bad memory:

1. Not enough memory.
2. Not enough free drive space.
3. Fragmented hard drive.
4. Too much intentionally-installed "background" junk running.
5. Spyware.
6. Viruses.
 
Joined
Mar 30, 2008
Messages
27
I recently built a new computer and everything worked fine for a month. Then I came in one morning and my computer was dead. It crashed and restarted everytime I tried to reboot. I'd get partway through the Windows repair process and it would crash again. Even DOS level apps were crashing. After lots of hair pulling, I tracked down a copy of Memtest86 and ran it. Lots of errors, all shown in Red.

I wasn't really sure what the results were "supposed" to be, but it didn't seem like I should be getting RAM errors. So, I picked up a couple of new RAM modules and ran the test again. I STILL had errors, though not as many as before.

After more head scratching, I pulled the modules out, then reinstalled one by one testing each module individually. My old module was bad, and one of the new modules was bad also! But the third module tested perfectly.

Long story short, if you're getting RAM errors, get new memory. You'll never have a stable system if the memory is flakey. Make sure you test it after installation, as new memory can be faulty too.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top