Message at start up in ME

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. The original thread starter may use the Report button to request it be reopened but anyone else with a similar issue should start a New Thread. Watch our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Newman

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 5, 2001
Messages
3
I have a HP laptop running WinME as it OS. The problem occured when I turn on my computer and after I get connected to the Interner, a message pops up whenever I try to open up a web browser. I don't know what this message is and it tells me that I am running an old program and that I need to download the newer version of that program. But I don't know what program it refers to and have no idea how to get rid of this disturbing message. Is this a problem that WinME has? If anyone know the problems, please help. Thanks
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
Hi Newman, welcome to TSG....

If you'd be so kind as to share these messages with us, someone may be able to assist you..... ;)
 

TonyKlein

Malware Specialist
Joined
Aug 26, 2001
Messages
10,392
It's not a ME problem, bur probably due to a program that's loading with Windows.

Go to Start/run, type Msconfig, and go to the startup tab. Tell us what's there.

Chances are it will be one of those items.

Gtz.
 
Joined
Dec 9, 2000
Messages
45,855
Another way to post what is loading at startup without having to do a lot of typing, is to go to start and run: msinfo32

Click

+ software environment
startup programs

Now click Edit>Select All>Edit>Copy

In your next reply, right click and Paste the copied text.
 

TonyKlein

Malware Specialist
Joined
Aug 26, 2001
Messages
10,392
Hi Rog,

That's absolutely brilliant by its simplicity! :)

Saves people the trouble of typing it all out, or having to attach screen shots.

Cheers,
 

Newman

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 5, 2001
Messages
3
Oh,
I forgot to say that my laptop starts up fine. The problem ONLY occurs whenever I open up a browser AFTER I got connected to the internet. After it pops up, it stays there until I click OK. I can still suft the net while it is appearing on my desktop. This is the content of the message box:
"You are running an older version of this program. Please download the newest version."
That's all. Thank you for your help.
 

TonyKlein

Malware Specialist
Joined
Aug 26, 2001
Messages
10,392
It might well still be a program starting up with Windows.
Please follow Rog's advice, and post the contents of 'Startup' here.

Gtz.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. The original thread starter may use the Report button to request it be reopened but anyone else with a similar issue should start a New Thread. Watch our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top