1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Messed up Windows Explorer

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by Numberpad, Dec 7, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Numberpad

    Numberpad Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    I was trying to change my Windows Explorer appearance using some things like this (http://seahorsepip.deviantart.com/art/Token-ExplorerFrame-Beta-3-155371375 - not the one, just an example). This involves replacing system files such as explorer.exe and explorerframe.dll. When I was installing one theme I messed up somehow and disabled dwm.exe (the theme apparently required it). I just ignored the problem and started using the basic windows 7 theme instead (no transparency). Today I tried switching it to the Windows 98 style theme, and that made it so Windows explorer crashes when I try to start it up (except for the taskbar). I can't switch it back because I can't open explorer...is there some way that I can reset those files that are messed up? Thanks
     
  2. lunarlander

    lunarlander

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Messages:
    11,876
    Can you start up a cmd prompt ? If you have backed up the files before changing them, then you can just copy them back.
     
  3. Numberpad

    Numberpad Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    I'm pretty sure that when I was messing around with the files after I had messed it up I correctly named all of the original files (I kept backups). I probably should have been clearer in my OP, sorry.

    I just did some more looking up stuff and it was the "Blur disabler" in this theme http://2befine.deviantart.com/art/2...ustomization/skins/windows7/visualstyle&qo=17 that messed up my dwm.exe.


    __________________________________________________



    EDIT: I ran "sfc /scannow" in cmd and it fixed explorer as well as the taskbar, but now I can't get Aero to work. Any suggestions?
     
  4. Numberpad

    Numberpad Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Bump. Currently I have a taskbar that looks like this: and Aero's still not working. [​IMG]
     
  5. Numberpad

    Numberpad Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    12
  6. Firebreather

    Firebreather

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2011
    Messages:
    5,068
    Not sure if this will work... But have you tried System Restore?
     
  7. VOTProductions

    VOTProductions

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Firebreather is right, try System Restore.
    What happens if you try to enable Aero in Appearence in Control Panel?
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1030219

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice