1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Microphone problem

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Murdoc2k, Oct 18, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Murdoc2k

    Murdoc2k Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2003
    Messages:
    75
    hi, I am using Labtec AM-242 Microphone... however, I have had problems with voice communication.... When I use the voice conversation option on MSN, the other person cannot hear me... (notice: We made sure we are connected and I have tried it when varrious friends of mine) I could hear the other person clearly but they cannot hear me. I made sure my microphone was not muted and it was placed at a high volume level...

    I tried using mic on CS and it works why isn't it working on messengers? anyone got any clue how to fix it? :rolleyes:
     
  2. Corrosive

    Corrosive

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Messages:
    1,058
    I know exactly what's wrong. Not because I'm intelligent (far from it) but because I saw this exact same problem in the tech-support section of one of my magazines.

    Scarily, the person was having the same trouble with MSN messanger and noted that it did work in an online videogame (In the magazine, it was Delta Force). Brr.

    Anyways, you are experiancing a bug which only manefests in version 4.5 and 4.6, which causes it to alter the volume to the wrong level. To fix it:
    1. Open up the 'Sounds, Speech and Audio Devices' catagory in the Control Panel
    2. Click on 'Adjust System Volume'
    3. Then go through Volume > Advanced > Options > Properties
    4. In the 'Adjust Volume For' section, select 'Recording'

    This links the mic control in Messanger to the recording control. Have fun.
     
  3. Murdoc2k

    Murdoc2k Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2003
    Messages:
    75
    Wow! thank you sooo much :D
     
  4. Murdoc2k

    Murdoc2k Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2003
    Messages:
    75
    Another problem... when I changed it... it says I changed it... but as soon as I closed the window and opened it again... it goes back to "playback" and not "recording" why is that? how could I fix it?

    I'm using Windows XP: home edition!
     
  5. Murdoc2k

    Murdoc2k Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2003
    Messages:
    75
    PLZZZZ!!! CAN ANYONE HELP?!
     
  6. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    I just had the same problem.....are they running a firewall?
     
  7. Murdoc2k

    Murdoc2k Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2003
    Messages:
    75
    I am not sure... we both have routers... he has windows ME and he tried it with someone else and it works!

    I find that this problem only happends on WINDOWS XP!

    I have firewall but it could connect no problem :(
     
  8. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    I know it can connect. Can you turn off the firewall for a test. I just ran into the same problem with a friend, I could hear her, she couldn't hear me....both on XP, I even tried on 98......she uninstalled McAfee firewall and worked like a charm. I told her to just disable it, but I don't think she caught everything via start, run, msconfig, startup.
     
  9. Murdoc2k

    Murdoc2k Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2003
    Messages:
    75
    alright... I'll give it a try :)
     
  10. Murdoc2k

    Murdoc2k Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2003
    Messages:
    75
    nope! I tried it with my sister and it showed NO DIFFERENCE :mad:
     
  11. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Is she running a firewall?
     
  12. Murdoc2k

    Murdoc2k Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2003
    Messages:
    75
    oh... oh... lol I didn't check that :/ I'll do it again but I don't think its the problem loh... becuase she spoke to me in a mic and we both have firewall on lol
     
  13. Murdoc2k

    Murdoc2k Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2003
    Messages:
    75
    Checked! the problem is still there... firewall is not the factor :(
     
  14. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    When you are talking, do you see your volume level move? I assume you can hear the other person still, they just can't hear you, correct?
     
  15. Murdoc2k

    Murdoc2k Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2003
    Messages:
    75
    yes...

    my volume meter does not show movement...

    however, when I tested with Netmetting, it showed movements but very very slow and laggy...

    my friend who I tested on without a firewall on still cannot hear me :(
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/172941

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice