1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

microphone volume keeps muting itself

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by pls_help, Nov 26, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. pls_help

    pls_help Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    hi guys.. i play the new game call of duty 2 multiplayer so i bought a headset w/ mic to use for team chat. at first it worked great, then all of a sudden for no reason, it didn't work. so i looked at my windows volume control and found out that it was unmuted before i opened up the game, but as soon as i open it up, it mutes the mic volume! how can i get it to be unmuted?? i have no clue what to do, i've tried everything i know. thanks for any help. :)

    i'm using an nvidia sound card with plugs in front part of the pc.. windows xp. the headphone jack works fine, i can hear stuff but not use the mic. also doesn't seem to work in sound recorder now. i installed the new sound card drivers just in case but didn't help.
     
  2. grewas

    grewas

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    27
    Double-click on the volume control down by the clock.
    It will open up the volume control showing several sliders for playback volume.
    Click Options -> Properties
    In the Adjust volume for section, click Recording
    Make sure the box for Microphone is checked
    Click OK
    Now the sliders for recording volume will be shown.
    Make sure the microphone's Mute box is unchecked.
     
  3. pls_help

    pls_help Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    ok, i did all that and guess what? it won't let me uncheck! it's stuck with the check mark that says "select" by microphone. any other ideas? thanks
     
  4. pls_help

    pls_help Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2005
    Messages:
    5
  5. grewas

    grewas

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    27
    where was the microphone slider at? You might need to move it up if it's too far down.

    If that doesn't help, open up Control Panel.
    Open Sounds and Audio Devices
    Click on the Voice tab
    Make sure the correct device is shown in the Voice recording section
    If not, use the drop down to choose the correct device
    Click on the Test hardware button. This will run a test on your audio hardware and includes a section to test the microphone.

    sorry for the delay. been sick the last few days.
     
  6. pls_help

    pls_help Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    ok, tried those things and it's still doing it.. test hardware finds no problem.. this is a strange problem, it seems no one else has had this happen to them :(
     
  7. grewas

    grewas

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    27
    If it's passing the hardware tests, then it's most likely an issue with the game.

    I assume you've tried any options the game has for muting/unmuting? Also, a quick Google shows the game allows external scripts for things like key bindings. If you're using a script, remove it and try the game again. If it works without the script, then the script is the problem.

    The only other thing I can think of is to uninstall and reinstall the game.
     
  8. pls_help

    pls_help Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    that's what i thought too, except i'm having the issue inside windows xp as well... it won't show volume coming in in the volume controls or sound recorder. yesterday i unplugged a plug in the back of the tower, it seems i had something plugged in "line in" and that was the problem. the mic worked after that for a day, but now today it's not working again! strange.. i don't even know what a script is.. i don't think it's a problem with the mic or the game.. when i move the cord around i can hear static, but my voice isn't coming thru..
     
  9. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    Do you have a "speech" applet in the Control Panel (comes with MS Office programs)? -- if you do, it's very good for configuring microphone issues.
     
  10. music_man

    music_man

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    Messages:
    1
    I have essentially the same problem. When I configured my microphone using the voice rec. software in word, for each paragraph in the learning section, I had to reset the mic volume, as it kept resetting to zero. After this however, when I tried to use the mic, it didnt pick anything up. I checked the mic volume, and it was back at zero... I reset it higher, closed volume control, and tried again... and when I reopened volume control, the volume was back at zero... but the mute button was not checked. I'm using a SigmaTel onboard card (using a toshiba M30 laptop) and I've tried every version of the sound drivers I can get my hands on, and none of them have solved the problem. It's all very confusing I must say
     
  11. tracylhw

    tracylhw

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    We are having the same problem. Mine just randonly mutes. My Dad's any timehe tries to use Yahoo voice it mutes the mic. I unmute it adn it's fine, until you try to use the voice chat in Yahoo then it mutes again until you uncheck it.:mad:
     
  12. Godetia

    Godetia

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    I had no problem until I started messing with driver upgrades. Of course my computer won't restore to any earlier points, either.
    I may just reload the windows xp sound component and see if that helps.
    I'm new here so any previously mentioned ideas, feel free to mention again.
     
  13. EzpcMars

    EzpcMars

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    I am having the same problem but its in Vista (64 Bit version)
     
  14. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/420057