1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Microphone

Discussion in 'Multimedia' started by beccamac0430, Jan 12, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. beccamac0430

    beccamac0430 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2005
    Messages:
    10
    I have a Toshiba Satellite A350, and my microphone isn't working. I've tried digging through all the settings etc. To no avail. I'm running WinVista64. My hard drive was replaced last summer, but I don't know whether the mic was working prior to that or not because I don't use it that often, if at all.

    I'm also getting a hiss from my speakers, which wasn't there before I actually tried playing back a test recording that didn't actually record anything due to the built-in mic not working. I've rebooted and it's still there unless I turn the volume way, way down.

    Any help would be appreciated.

    ETA: In Sound>Playback>Speakers>Speaker Properties>Levels Tab ............. when I mute the Microphone from here, the hissing from my speakers stops.

    ETA2: It's a built in mic
     
  2. beccamac0430

    beccamac0430 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2005
    Messages:
    10
    Did I possibly post this in the wrong section? :eek:
     
  3. DerekC

    DerekC

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,705
    Instead of muting the mic, does the static go away when you turn the mic volume down? Just in case it's a Mic issue, do you have a cheap external mic that you can try? What program were you trying to use to test record? Some programs have a "press to talk" hotkey.
     
  4. beccamac0430

    beccamac0430 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2005
    Messages:
    10
    I think it's a physical issue. Wiggling my laptop monitor back and forth, gave some pops and static, and for a minute the mic was picking me up. Wiring, I think? Still under warranty, so I guess I'll check it into the shop.

    Thanks, I'll be back to post if it doesn't get solved that way.
     
  5. DerekC

    DerekC

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,705
    A bad wire is a very real possibility. If your mic is in the screen, then the wire has to connect through the hinge. It might have gotten frayed or cut. If it's under warranty, get it looked at. Otherwise you can try a cheap external mic.
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/974353

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice