Microsoft 2003 Excel crash on Windows Vista

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

davidliang

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 29, 2008
Messages
5
Hi, guys, I know this kind of topics have posted here for a while, and I saw you guys' posts, but i just couldn't get my laptop fixed.

Can you guys give me a walk-through guide? Thousand thx



Here is the problem: Everytime I tried to open Excel, the error message followed up:

Problem signature:
Problem Event Name: APPCRASH
Application Name: EXCEL.EXE
Application Version: 11.0.8169.0
Application Timestamp: 465f27bd
Fault Module Name: OLEAUT32.dll
Fault Module Version: 6.0.6000.16609
Fault Module Timestamp: 4757753e
Exception Code: c0000005
Exception Offset: 000041c0
OS Version: 6.0.6000.2.0.0.768.3
Locale ID: 2052
Additional information about the problem:
LCID: 1033
Brand: Office11Crash
skulcid: 1033
Read our privacy statement:
http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?linkid=50163&clcid=0x0409


Please help !!!


For the solutions posted here before, I couldn't be able to change normal.dot file to normalold.dot file. Well I couldn't even be able to find out where it is. My laptop seems not have "documents & settings".
 

DaveA

David
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Nov 16, 1999
Messages
16,923
Have you tried running a Diagnostics from the Excel Options, and then Resources?
 

DaveA

David
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Nov 16, 1999
Messages
16,923
Open Excel, click on the Office orb (the round thing in the right upper corner) select Excel Options on the bottom of the menu and then resources.
 

davidliang

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 29, 2008
Messages
5
I can't even turn the excel on. While i am trying to open the excel, it freaze and error message poped up
 

DaveA

David
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Nov 16, 1999
Messages
16,923
Try any of the other Office programs and try there. The Diagnostics is done on the complete Office package.
 

davidliang

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 29, 2008
Messages
5
I couldn't find the office orb on the upper right cornner that you were talking about.
 

DaveA

David
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Nov 16, 1999
Messages
16,923
My error, it is in the Upper LEFT.
It looks like the image below!
 

Attachments

davidliang

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 29, 2008
Messages
5
thx. Actually i got the problem fixed just by doing the upgrade to Vista service pack 1. The problem happened before because I got blocked from upgrading that. I figured out that i had to download the special upgrade package called Windows Vista Service Pack 1 Five Language Standalone (or all language) in order to upgrade to service pack 1.

Here is the link http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/...6D-5EBB-413B-89C9-CB3D06D12674&displaylang=en

anyway. thanks for the time.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top