Microsoft Access

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

computerman29642

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 4, 2007
Messages
2,895
Is there a way to create some kind of link to a website to bring in a synopsis of movies? I am creating a databse for my movies, and would like a brief description of the movie without having to insert it myself.

Any help in this matter would be greatly appreciated.
 

OBP

Joined
Mar 8, 2005
Messages
19,896
Welcome back.
I can't help you with this one as I never do anything with the web.
I did write an Excel macro for pasting previously copied data from the web, but nothing Access.
 
Joined
Jul 29, 2001
Messages
21,334
It can be done, but if the URL's are dynamic it probably won't work. Is there an example of what you are trying to get from a movie web site/s in question?
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2011
Messages
82
Even with dynamic URLs you could write a function that uses a website's search bar to find the movie. Then all you should need is a little string manipulation to parse the source code down to just the description. I use similar functions every day.
 

computerman29642

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 4, 2007
Messages
2,895
Spatha, that is exactly what I am trying to accomplish. However, I would like for the description to be there without pressing a command button. Also, the entire description is not being populated.
 

computerman29642

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 4, 2007
Messages
2,895
Rockn....I would like to pull in the little summary of movies from a website, so that i dont have to type ii in manually.
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2011
Messages
82
I have updated it so that the description is pulled after you enter a movie name instead of when you click the button. I have set a 250 character limit to the description because a plain text field in an access table can only hold 255 characters.
 

Attachments

Joined
Jul 29, 2001
Messages
21,334
You will also run into issues with shorter descriptions if you use a 255 character limit because it will start pulling in HTML tags unless you account for those as well.
 

computerman29642

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 4, 2007
Messages
2,895
How would I account for the tags? Can this be done in excel as well? Is there a way to once the description has been pulled in, it remains without having to pull it in each time?
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!