1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Microsoft Java Virtual Machine

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by Amanda68, Apr 26, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Amanda68

    Amanda68 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    I just purchesed a new computer (emachine) that came with Windows XP Home edition.. and i am trying to go to pogo to play games.. but it sais i have to install the java virtual machine.. i have tried a number of times to download it.. but it wont seem to work.. i keep getting a message that sais "content does not match teh signature"?? what am i doing wrong?
     
  2. rude

    rude

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2004
    Messages:
    2,326
  3. Amanda68

    Amanda68 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    i tried the links you offered me... but they wouldn't work.. it said it was unable to find that url?
     
  4. Amanda68

    Amanda68 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    i dont know if this makes a difference, but i thought i saw a message somewhere where someone mentioned that the Norton anti virus program may interfere with it.. i have that since it came with a free 3 month trial on the computer. The website you sent me to mentioned that there are legal issues with the java virtual machine.. i was not able to link to anthing on that site though.. all links were broken
     
  5. Amanda68

    Amanda68 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    i went to my control panel to look for java programs.. i have three on there that have been installed i guess in my attempts to get the virtual machine.. these are what are on there..
    Java 2 Runtime Environment Standard edition v1.3.1
    Java 2 Runtime Environment Standard edition v1.3.1_02
    Java 2 Runtime Environment SE 1.4.2_04
    is it possible i have it already and it just isn't enabled?? How do i check to see?
     
  6. Bob Cerelli

    Bob Cerelli

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2002
    Messages:
    22,468
  7. md2lgyk

    md2lgyk

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2003
    Messages:
    1,068
    If you really have all those JRE versions installed, you don't need Virtual Machine. You can click on the Java Plug-in icon in Control Panel, then click the Advanced tab and pick the one you want to use.
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/223940

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice