1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Microsoft Office Outlook synchronizing folders

Discussion in 'Business Applications' started by don_1953, Aug 31, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. don_1953

    don_1953 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2006
    Messages:
    77
    Running Windows XP Pro, Service pack 3, and Outlook 2003.

    the synchronizing folders is locking up the computer, running very slow and I can't figure out how to tell it not to.

    help?
     
  2. don_1953

    don_1953 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2006
    Messages:
    77
    I was able to logon thru a web access to the email account on the machine I was having a problem with, and deleted all the weekend spam (over 300 emails) After that, Outlook seemed happy, but it still doesn't explain why "Microsoft Office Outlook is synchronizing folders", what triggers this? why can't I find a setting to turn it off??
     
  3. valis

    valis Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    75,938
    is this running through an exchange server, such as on a domain at work?

    That's about the only way I can imagine it synching files.

    Regardless, it's probably cached mode being switched on. is this a laptop?
     
  4. don_1953

    don_1953 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2006
    Messages:
    77
    Our mail server is a simple Linux machine, all we use it for is email. We have about 40 workstations, about 60 total email accounts set up on the server. We use Squirrel Mail for web based access, it was through that access that I was able to delete her weekend spam and Outlook seemed happy. Thanks for replying
     
  5. valis

    valis Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    75,938
    start > control panel > mail > (not in front of my xp desktop, so I'm guessing here) > accounts > check to make sure that cached mode isn't checked. If that doesn't point you there, try googling for turning cache mode off.

    btw, are you the IT dept there? If not, you need to ask them.

    they may have cached mode on for a reason.
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/857047

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice