Microsoft Outlook

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

valastro

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 8, 2002
Messages
8
I am using Microsoft Outlook and was, at one time, able to begin typing in a name in the TO: field for email and it would plug in the name if it was in the address book. This no longer works. Is there a way I can recover this so I don't have to type in the email address each time? Thank you.
 
Joined
Jun 26, 2000
Messages
7,762
In Outlook, go to Tools, Options, on Preferences tab click E-Mail Options, then click Advanced Email Options and near the bottom of the next window, make sure there is a tick for Automatic Name Checking

This way, when you type in a portion of the email, it will automaticall put in the eddress once you leave the To field. If it could be one of several addresses, what you typed in will have a wavy red underline, right-click the selection and choose the address from the ones Outlook thinks you mean.


If you were referring to the address being displayed as you type it, that is an Outlook Express function.
 

valastro

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 8, 2002
Messages
8
Randy, I followed your instructions but still do not get the TO: field to complete even though I have the name in the address book. When I check the field automatic name checking I have to ok all the way out of the screens. I see apply in one of them but it is not highlighted. Do you have any other ideas? I can click on the To:' field and pull the email address but the automatic name checking and filling in of the To: shortens the process for me. Your assistance is appreciated. Thanks.
 
Joined
Jun 26, 2000
Messages
7,762
Just to test something, what happens when you click on the Check Names button after you type in part of the address?

 

Attachments

valastro

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 8, 2002
Messages
8
Randy, if I type in part of the email address and it is in the address book and then click on check names it completes the To: field.
 
Joined
Jun 26, 2000
Messages
7,762
Ok, then following my first bit of advice is the only thing I can recommend. I can tell you that it doesn't do it right that second, but when you leave the To box, it will get around to it within a few seconds.

Sorry i could not be of more help:(
 

valastro

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 8, 2002
Messages
8
Randy, your advice was fine. I will try it by typing a few letters in the To: field and if that doesn't work click to the contact list.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top